PDA

View Full Version : Legal Issues for story ideas?

vindraven
03-28-2005, 08:40 PM
How can one go about protecting a story idea, concepts, characters, and such?

NDA's? Copyright? There's tons to know. Can someone make a sticky?

Someone out there knows and any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

d

Raji
03-28-2005, 09:35 PM
i'm no pro, but this is the info i've gathered so far. The real pros can correct me if i'm wrong.
How can one go about protecting a story idea, concepts, characters, and such?
register your idea for $20 with the writer's guild at http://www.wga.org/ . You could even copyright the script. Go to http://www.copyright.gov/ for more info on how to do that.
NDA's?
An NDA is just a non-disclosure agreement. If you're the only one that knows of the project you're working on, just don't tell anyone. :) If you have employees, either find a lawyer that will write one up for you, or find some samples of NDAs online or something.

fwtep
03-28-2005, 10:25 PM
How can one go about protecting a story idea, concepts, characters, and such?You can't protect an idea, only specifics. For example, anyone can make a movie about the Titanic, but if it starts in the present day with a dive down to the wreck, then goes back in time to tell about a love story with characters named Jack and Rose there will be trouble.

Likewise, you're more than welcome to do your own version of Snow White, but if there's a character named Dopey you'll run into copyright trouble. (In fact, there are many other versions of many Disney films, such as Snow White, Peter Pan, The Little Mermaid, Alice In Wonderland, etc. but they're not infringements because they take the source material and treat it differently than the Disney versions.)