PDA

View Full Version : Bone axis orientation?

paperclip
03-28-2005, 12:09 PM
Hi there. I'm new to rigging and I'm following a tutorial in which I am told to orient the local axes of certain bones as follows:

Orienting the bones
Orient the jHip, jKnee, jAnkle and jToes joints so that their local axis are as shown: Y pointing to their child joint, Z pointing up.

Could someone tell me which commands I need to use this? I've looked at the help files but it's just proving confusing. If I try to rotate the axis using 'affect pivot only' in the hierarchies>pivot menu, the entire bone rotates and makes a bit of a mess.

Help!

clalan
03-28-2005, 12:50 PM
it sounds like you are using max and reading a maya tutorial :) as far as I know, it's impossible to change the local axis of a bone, x will always be pointing towards the child. affect pivot only doesn't work as a bone is actually nothing more than a pivot point. but I might be wrong.. in which case I hope someone will correct me!

so X will always be pointing towards the child. and you can change the direction of the other axes by either rotating in local coordinate space with "affect pivot only" on or in "bone edit mode" (this way the child won't be affected).

marktsang
03-28-2005, 03:30 PM
as far as I know, it's impossible to change the local axis of a bone, x will always be pointing towards the child

it is not impossible - i have written a script to change the rotation of bones (to avoid gimbal lock in certain situations) i will post it later

note that all it does it chnage the bone from a bone to and edit/poly / mesh and then rotate the pivot and then change back to bone object - but you will loose all bone options like fins and length so be sure to set them first

mark

paperclip
03-28-2005, 04:26 PM