PDA

View Full Version : How do I make scrolling text? Plz help.

nanogirl
03-28-2005, 09:44 AM
Hello, I hope one of you can help me out. Just so you know my level of experience here, I'm a complete newbie to the After Effects program, I just got it yesterday. I got it to try and resolve a problem I"m having with an animaiton project. Here is the background info: I have been working on a scene inside of 3dstudio max, it's a hand that has a computer screen on it. This computer screen changes, to display different texts (or screens w/ texts). In the first few screen changes, I've had no problem. I have been opening my material inside of Photoshop, and writing the text on the actual material and apply it to my 3Ds hand model inside of max. I can just show the screen as animating by changing the material, this part has worked fine. My problem is for a couple of the text screens they need to be scrolling on the hand, which I obviously can't do in Photoshop, so I was hoping I could do this in After Effects. But I don't see a pre-generated text animation for scrolling. Is there a way I can do this? I need to import my .jpg into After Effects and then have animated scrolling text (just a normal line by line scroll) that is visible on my .jpg. so that it looks like the scrolling text is on the hand image and I can save it as an animation. Can anyone help me with this? I appreciate it, thank you, Gina

www.nanogirl.com (http://www.nanogirl.com)
http://maxanimation.blogspot.com/

Ian Jones
03-29-2005, 04:56 AM
Well, I think you'll have problems mapping this texture to the hand in 3D but to produce a scrolling text anim with afterFX it depends on what you want exactly. I have attached an example file with a text layer and effect > distort > offset which is a simple solution. If you want a really long line of scrolling text that doesn't repeat, then thats a little more work. Let me know if that helps.

nanogirl
03-29-2005, 06:11 AM