PDA

View Full Version : FXWars! MoonShot!: Jason Dexter (Fantasy: Soft Science)

JDex
03-27-2005, 06:04 PM
Okay... after spending a few days determining feasibility of completing an entry... I have decided that I probably will not finish... but I am going to try anyway. I have most of the designs done but I am scanner-less atm, so I will be posting WIP animatics and lighting tests as I go... I have never done anything of this scale before so bear with me and be honest.

The premise is that during the American 2015 moon landings an unexpected abundance of hydrogen was discovered, as well as a compound called he4... these discoveries will make manned space exploration not only possible, but likely profitable... the G8 collaborated with 32 global corporations to form the ISA (International Space Agency) and the first order of business was to construct a large scale Earth-based Launch/Control facility to enable construction of a permanent High-Orbit Space Station and a Permanent Lunar Base... research into advance launch theories resulted in the development of Electromagnetic launch silo technology, where-as a massive hole is dug deep into the Earth's Crust (5km) and is lined with massive iron magnets that propell the space craft to 2525kph before the hydrogen rocket boosters fire... resulting in much more economic/environmentally freindly launches...

A site was needed at the equator, but the environmental concerns made finding a site very difficult... the sound concerns, pollution and disaster potential made for few agreeable locations, so it was determined that an island would be constructed... 40km West of the city of Bata in the Gulf of Guinea (Western Africa) Atlantis was completed in 2041... a 350sq. km man-made island with two of these vast launch silos... Atlas and Hermes. This island had to accomodate the research, command/control, launch, return and staging of the space program... as well as the housing and day to day life of hundreds of staff.