PDA

View Full Version : FXwars! Moonshot! -R.Quinn


rquinn
03-24-2005, 10:32 PM
I have picked up the challenge am will try to finish it
thanks to Patton And PixelMagic for the inspiration
now to work

rquinn
03-24-2005, 10:41 PM
First Off I have a question..
I made a matte painting of the launch area..its a wide shot tho i would like a slight tilt
for that i thought why not project the painting onto basic geometry and animate a cam in max

I am using Max7 and have found no way of projecting a picture on objects
is there a way it can be done in max7?

thanks in advance

rquinn
03-25-2005, 01:35 AM
http://img27.exs.cx/my.php?loc=img27&image=shot12km.jpg

My plan for the first shot

SoLiTuDe
03-25-2005, 01:50 AM
It's called camera mapping... make sure you use the object-level modifier though, so you can use that camera later... You'll see what i mean if you try to use the world-space modifier, and move the camera around.. Basically create the material with the pic in the diffuse slot, then add the "camera map" modifier to any object you want to use the mapping on, align a camera to the geometry (pretty obvious) and then in the modifier select the camera you want to use for the projection mapping. There's a tutorial on it I think... but if you need more help, let me know, and I'll go into more detail.

Daniel-B
03-25-2005, 04:20 AM
Awesome, where did you find that view of the launch pad?

rquinn
03-25-2005, 05:22 AM
Yeah I got it on the latest reference sites that Patton put up-Pixel

I dont quite get it but i will try to fool around with what you mentioned then if I have a problem I'll keep you POSTED! ahaha

its late.. sorry

SoLiTuDe
03-25-2005, 07:49 AM
here ya go... this is a SUPER SIMPLE vid example of it... http://home.comcast.net/~djsolitude/cameramap2.avi (http://home.comcast.net/%7Edjsolitude/cameramap2.avi) (8 megs, and you need the techsmith (http://www.getafile.com/cgi-bin/merlot/get/techsmith/tscc/TSCC.exe) codec) after that i would create the rest of the objects I needed, and apply the material and modifier to those as well... you'll see what I mean... and at the end it gets a little funky, so what i've noticed is that just add a little bit of detail fixes it, and i'm sure uvw unwrap would work too, though I haven't tried it... an better example is this i guess: http://home.comcast.net/~djsolitude/original.jpg and after making the 3d geometry you can move around the scene and such: http://home.comcast.net/~djsolitude/rightwall.jpg and http://home.comcast.net/~djsolitude/smallmove.jpg

Have fun... i'll delete that in a few days.. as I have like a 10 meg limit... =P Lemme know when you get it

rquinn
03-25-2005, 06:44 PM
thanks man really

yeah i got it to work in max
only thing i dont quite understand is the way the texture reacts to more or less segments in a plane for example
im getting the impression that the more the mesh is dense the better the result will be

ill post a result up later
now i got a poker game!

SoLiTuDe
03-25-2005, 07:34 PM
" im getting the impression that the more the mesh is dense the better the result will be"

Yupp! That's what i've noticed anyway.. i haven't really had time to play with it though to be sure if an unwrap could fix it or something... Glad to help!

rquinn
03-30-2005, 01:57 AM
I modeled the replacement stuff and tied to crate a floor for a matte/sadow material so that the 3d stuff would cast a shadow on the projected floor and its not working..
anyone can tell me a quick way of doing it?
im sure its something stupid

rquinn
03-30-2005, 03:56 AM
damn it i also lost an object when going into object properties and asking to hide it
now i have no idea where it is

rquinn
03-31-2005, 01:37 AM
no help?
plz

SoLiTuDe
03-31-2005, 07:53 AM
right click in ur viewport and click "unhide all"

as for the matte/shadow... open up the mat. editor, create a "matte/shadow" material, and make sure "recieve shadows" is on, and that "shadow brightness" is at 0, and the color is black. (should be defaults) then make sure it's applied to your ground plane or whatever needs to have a shadow on it. :)

jigu
03-31-2005, 08:04 AM
right click in ur viewport and click "unhide all"

as for the matte/shadow... open up the mat. editor, create a "matte/shadow" material, and make sure "recieve shadows" is on, and that "shadow brightness" is at 0, and the color is black. (should be defaults) then make sure it's applied to your ground plane or whatever needs to have a shadow on it. :)

yeah that's it very easy!!
whenever u got something missiing!! right click this is will bring shortcut menu to help u fast!!

this is the fact and can work in each software!!Also u can work fast.

rquinn
04-06-2005, 09:50 PM
AM I MAD OR STUPID!?

i have my floor plane that is being projected on
now i took that plane, cloned it and moved it a fraction over the projected one and applied the Matte/Shadow material

but for some :OSJNCO UGHEt reason its not giving me a shadow

why is that

P.S. Thanks for the help so far

SoLiTuDe
04-11-2005, 05:31 PM
hmmm... probably not u... if you wanna post the file I could look at it, but I dunno to be honest... as long as recieve shadows is on, and brightness at 0 it should work

droidoz
04-13-2005, 02:54 PM
Are you using mental ray with sky light and final gather, because somehow mental ray and final gather dont work with the matte material

CGTalk Moderation
04-13-2005, 02:54 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.