PDA

View Full Version : Selling Out?

jmw
03-24-2005, 05:28 PM
Hi I am a new media student from London, I am currently researching for my final project. The theme I have chosen is 'selling out'. I have found varying definitions scattered around the web,most suggesting 'loss of integrity for financial gain'. For example, stencil artist Banksy has been accused of selling out after producing Blur's CD cover. On a much larger scale multinational corporations are guilty of selling out as well.

I plan to produce an animation in the style of the 1970s/80s public information videos, with a satirical twist.

Basically I would like people to write a few words about their definition of 'selling out' or what it represents to them. I just want to get some opinions on this to help me understand it a little better.

Thanks

Jamie Wood

www.dubpixel.co.uk (http://www.dubpixel.co.uk)

titaniumdave
03-24-2005, 05:34 PM
To me theres two definitions of selling out for "artist". The first is someone changing who they are to make money. For example a rock band changes itself into a pop band purely to make a buck. The other is someone using their image to sell something they don't like. For example someone trying to sell a mac when they've never used one or are just a pc user.

MattClary
03-24-2005, 05:41 PM
The definition of "Selling out" will probably vary a little bit, mostly everyone will agree it boils down to 'loss of integrity for financial gain', however, I will say that ANYONE who has ever accepted payment for something they have done can not accuse anyone else of having sold out. The only way anyone can retain 100% of their integrity is to produce art because it's what they enjoy doing, and they do it only for their benefit.

Craiger
03-24-2005, 05:50 PM
I'd agree with the definitions thus far.

In a perfect world there would be no money... thus there would be no selling out. Unfortunately if you don't sell out to some degree ,,, you are usually broke.

MattClary