PDA

View Full Version : fps and different formats

cameronfielding
03-23-2005, 09:20 PM
dont wanna sound like a noob here but something about animation production has always confused me and maybe you guys know how this works ...

How does animation compensate for difference in frames per second ?

i.e; between dvd ntsc 30fps, and the same feature at 24fps theatre release ? and even the difference between pal 25fps dvd and ntsc 30fps dvd ?

what I mean is... what speed do the animators do their work at ? -- I understand there must be a process that converts to the different formats -- but surely the big studios would not allow for say 'dropping frames ' to go from 30 to 24 fps when animation is so carefully crafted ? or the slowing down of timing when going the other way ?? and how does the sound tie in will all this ?

i dont get it ... lol

bblackbourn
03-24-2005, 01:15 AM
the short answer is - it varies.

the animated projects I've worked on have been 24, 25 & 30fps.

the key questions are
1) what is your primary distribution format?
2) are the artists used to working at one specific speed?

1)
as you say...
film: 24fps
PAL: 25 fps
NTSC: 30fps

Any conversions to other speeds will be done via the normal methods (3:2 pulldown etc)
BTW it doesn't change the "timing" - the elapsed time between 2 poses (in milliseconds for example) is basically the same on any of the formats, it's just how many "inbetweens" (interpolated if need be) are shown in that time.

2) If you have mainly traditional artists that insist on working at 24fps (they have their sense of timing - ie how many frames to place between poses - based around that), you may consider working at that framerate during production then converting to your required framerate at the end...(don't laugh - I've seen it done several times!) Used to be commonly done for traditional anim PAL projects especially as the "difference in feel" between 24 & 25 fps is virtually un-noticeable.