PDA

View Full Version : Skeleton Problems...


pichu_lover
03-22-2005, 12:12 PM
Hi, I am a new user to this forum, and I am a sort of beginning 3D animator.


My concern is with transforming a model that has a skeleton assigned and skinned to it.

I made the infamous Jack-in-the-Box from Learning Maya Foundations, and figured a way to transform the model with ease (I plan to make the model "hop" and fall forward). I have parented the makeup of the model so that whenever i rotate/scale/move the base of it, everything moves perfectly with it. http://www.geocities.com/lemon_bizket/fine1.jpg


http://www.geocities.com/lemon_bizket/fine2.jpg

Then.. there was the skeleton.

In the Jack's neck/spring is a skeleton which squashes together or spreads open to let the character out of the box. The neck (blue) is to be skinned to the skeleton, but when i do so, I lose the ability to transform the entire thing comfortably, look at this! :(

http://www.geocities.com/lemon_bizket/bad.jpg

What appears to happen is: whatever i do to the base of the model (the object to which everything is parented), the neck does DOUBLE that transformation. If i rotate 45, it goes 90. If i move it 1 block, it goes 2. If i scale it 2, it scales 4. This 'theme' seems to be constant when I make skinned models. Usually, the skeleton runs away from the model, or vice versa when I transform the model. In this model, the skeleton is locked so I cannot move it. EVERYTHING is perfect with transforming the base, EXCEPT that annoying neck.

I need advice to help keep this thing still. My animation teacher has given some advice to fixing the problem, such as latticing the neck and parenting the latice. I could not get this to work, so I sit idly by, fooling around with this thing. Please, If you can, can you help me keep my skeletons from running away from my models :(


Thanks a ton, guys.

~movestudios.

neofg
03-23-2005, 02:55 PM
The problem is that when u make the moviment, u move the skeleton with the object, so object is moved 2 times...
If u wanna move it right u must select only the root joint and then move or rotate it...

CGTalk Moderation
03-23-2005, 02:55 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.