PDA

View Full Version : Painting Skin Weights Causes Distortion - Please Help

jinhachi
03-18-2005, 10:48 PM
I'm having a problem with painting weights on a model of mine. I have built a rig for it but when editing the vertice weights for skinning, the verticies distort. This happens sporaticly on all portions of the mesh. I have included a link to a gif i made for demonstration. In it, i was trying to correct some of the verticies so that when the arm was lowered, the rib cage would not collapse in on itself. However, as you can see in the gif, when painting the weights, the verticies seem to be drawn to a point somewhere behind the model. I have tried everything i can think of but nothing works or explains why the vertecies are influenced in that manner.
I am still new to Maya so any help would be greatly appreciated. Many thanks.

GIF: http://img93.exs.cx/img93/3069/help8yz.gif

HAYK´AP
03-18-2005, 11:19 PM
Hi. this is my suggestion..

Go to componet mode, select the vertices you are having problems with and "normalize" their weight, this would put the vertices in the place they were when you created them. From that star adding weight to them, DO NOT scale down.

I am not at my computer right now, so Ican´t tell you where to normalize them. I think is under Animation Skin somewhere... sorry for that.

You go to component editor to manually assing weights to any given vertice too.

Hope it helps a little.

Regards.-

Richard.

jinhachi
03-19-2005, 05:18 AM
Thanks Richard, i'll give it a shot when i get to school. I'm just hoping it works, since its been giving me problems for the last couple of days.

From that star adding weight to them, DO NOT scale down.