PDA

View Full Version : Maxscript not working


thrischan
03-16-2005, 11:04 PM
Hi everybody

I have a serious problem with max script. Maybe you could help a little.

What is happening is that maxscript is not working at all , if hit F11 and i will see a empty window. In the mini listener i cant see anything as well.

Here it is a screeshot of the max interface with the maxscript window showing a grey color.

Thank you very much.

erilaz
03-17-2005, 01:29 AM
What happens when you open a script?

It looks like a setup problem... try renaming your 3dsmax.ini to 3dsmax.bak and restarting the program. If it clears up there may be a corruption in your ini file.

Bobo
03-17-2005, 01:37 AM
I have never seen this, but it could be related to missing Windows components.
MAXScript is using some DLLs related to the RichEdit library.
Does your Start>Programs>Accessories>WordPad work correctly?

thrischan
03-17-2005, 01:42 AM
Thank you erilaz: I changed the .ini to .bak, but nothing. When i open a script i get a crash.

Thank you bobo: Yes my wordpad is working ok.

Thank you I apperciate you help.

thrischan
03-17-2005, 06:18 PM
Any other ideas?

Than you.

ofer_z
03-17-2005, 06:32 PM
hi,

you could try and delete the maxscrpt.dsk file in your max-root directory (make a backup first!)

if that doesn't work, you can try to repair your max installation (note that if you custumized your max, you might lose those settings)

hOpe this helps,
o

thrischan
03-17-2005, 06:46 PM
Thank you ofer-z, but deleting that file didnt work. I tried repairing max but it didnt work either.

Thank you very much.

Does anybody have another idea?

Bobo
03-17-2005, 08:45 PM
Thank you ofer-z, but deleting that file didnt work. I tried repairing max but it didnt work either.

Thank you very much.

Does anybody have another idea?

Reinstalling Windows? Calling Discreet?
Just thinking aloud...

erilaz
03-17-2005, 09:43 PM
I think the next stage should be as Bobo suggests. Call your reseller or discreet. This sounds like a far more in depth issue than just a configuration corruption.

CGTalk Moderation
03-17-2005, 09:43 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.