PDA

View Full Version : New to maxscript, writing exporter

CyberSlag5k
03-12-2005, 03:21 AM
I'm attempting to write an exporter for max that will output mesh data (vertices, faces, normals, textures, materials, and keyframes) to a file in binary. I don't have any experience with maxscript, though I am a programmer by trade.

I'm just starting out with the script, and I'm getting an error when trying to output the list of vertices. An error I don't quite understand:

file = fopen "C:\\stuff.dat" "wb"

for i = 1 to tmesh.numverts do (

temp = getVert tmesh v

tempX = temp.x : Float

tempY = temp.y : Float

tempZ = temp.z : Float

WriteFloat file tempX

WriteFloat file tempy

WriteFloat file tempz

)

-- Syntax error: at ), expected <factor>

-- In line: )

Can somebody tell me what I've dont wrong here?

And how do I signal the text form that I am no longer commenting anything (so it will stop printing in red).

Thanks in advance.

Bobo
03-12-2005, 05:02 PM
I'm attempting to write an exporter for max that will output mesh data (vertices, faces, normals, textures, materials, and keyframes) to a file in binary. I don't have any experience with maxscript, though I am a programmer by trade.

I'm just starting out with the script, and I'm getting an error when trying to output the list of vertices. An error I don't quite understand:

file = fopen "C:\\stuff.dat" "wb"

for i = 1 to tmesh.numverts do (

temp = getVert tmesh v

tempY = temp.y : Float

tempZ = temp.z : Float

WriteFloat file tempX

WriteFloat file tempy

WriteFloat file tempz

)

-- Syntax error: at ), expected <factor>

-- In line: )

Can somebody tell me what I've dont wrong here?

And how do I signal the text form that I am no longer commenting anything (so it will stop printing in red).

Thanks in advance.

This does not sound right to me. In MAXScript, you never ever have to specify any types.
The value in tempX would be float anyway, because the 3 elements of a Point3 vector ARE floats.