PDA

View Full Version : Good Video Capture card

Animare
09-21-2002, 08:02 AM
Hi,

Im new to the compositioning scene and am currently learning Combustion 2 so bare with me.

I am wanting to get a vid cap card that basically takes video(non-digital) puts it on my computer, then after that allows me to put it back out.

Will the Tagra 3000 Pinnacle card do this? I am not familiar with the jargon and am trying to learn which is why I am asking.

Thanks

Animare
09-21-2002, 08:10 AM
@#$! I just found out how much one of these things cost! Ok...all I am still unclear about finiding a card that just basiaclly gets the video on my PC and then lets me put it back out...without all the real time editing jargon etc...as long as there is minimal quality loss.

Thanks

skidd
09-21-2002, 01:10 PM
dude,
get the Pinnacle DC10, the more simple that i know... +/- U$100,00

Tokion
09-23-2002, 06:36 AM
all u need is a mini dv camera and a firewire card..then u are all set.;)

beenyweenies
09-24-2002, 07:43 PM
My replies tend to get lengthy, so please bear with me...

If you have access to a digital video camera, that would make your life a LOT easier and less costly to boot. It is far easier and cleaner to get a digital signal into a computer than analog, since there is no conversion necessary (explained below), and no signal loss. You may even be better off just renting a digital camera for the day just to have access to lossless footage and a cheaper method of capture.