PDA

View Full Version : masks


Transform Gizmo
09-21-2002, 07:25 AM
i just starting tinkering with after effects today, and i read a tutorial that shows how to make a bezier mask, so i was wonder, how could i make a mask with an image, like a black and white image, for example if i rendered an object in 3d studio, then how would i use its alpha channel or something like that as a mask?

fred
09-21-2002, 10:09 AM
if you have the alpha channel integrated into your footage you can tell ae when importing (select integrated - premultiplied with - then select your bg color, i guess it will be black) or by selecting the footage and modifying its properties. if you have your alpha channel as a seperate sequence import it and place it over your original sequence in the timeline. then choose your original footage and select track matte -> luma matte or inv. luma matte (depends on how you rendered your alpha).
that will do

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 06:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.