PDA

View Full Version : just practicing


isotoksin
03-09-2005, 06:09 AM
Okay, many of you will say 'check out this loser' or whatever, but I'm really interested in what the rest think. I'm basicly starting from scratch (got Maya a couple of weeks ago) and going for the realistic head aproach first.. as in 'head first'. I know it all looks crappy and so noobish, but I'm hoping it will get better.

Basicly starting out with a box, low poly half of the head while keeping a 'smooth proxy' copy nearby, and a duplicate of that, so I have a full smoothed head while I work on the low poly.

Up until now I modeled 3 heads. First was 'teh' crap and erased it, and the second and third I'm going to post here. All I need is your crits and hints (try to refrain from hints like 'you're doing this all wrong' and 'you should go back to programming' as those will really get to me).

http://isotoksin.3x.ro/maya/head2.jpg
http://www.summertwin.com/_maya/head2.jpg
http://www.summertwin.com/_maya/head3.jpg
http://www.summertwin.com/_maya/head3b.jpg - Tweak of head3

low poly wire / smooth wire / smooth images

I'm not sitting around for details.. I just get it done, see what didn't work out well, and keep that in mind while I work on a new model. I'll update this post when I get around the next head. Critics highly appreciated.

Don Kayote
03-09-2005, 11:05 AM
The server is down. :(

Maybe CGtalk attachment would work for the mean time.

isotoksin
03-09-2005, 12:54 PM
Sorry about that. Server wasn't down, but long story. Anyway, fixed it now. I was certain this was gonna happen.

Don Kayote
03-09-2005, 06:37 PM
Nice loops. :)
However the mouth part and the nose part and the forehead parts needs more defenition.
Especially the mouth. By the way, are you modeling from reference?

isotoksin
03-09-2005, 07:05 PM
The loops are a miracle :)
I didn't use any reference at all, just what seemed to look nice. I'm not exactly familiar with using reference..

Edit: http://www.summertwin.com/_maya/head3b2.jpg wireframe for the last one..

Don Kayote
03-10-2005, 08:14 AM
Here's a site that shows you how to model with reference.
http://mr2k.3dvf.net/frameset.htm

And the server is not working again. I think.

CGTalk Moderation
03-10-2005, 08:14 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.