PDA

View Full Version : performanceboosters: scsi HD / 2mb cache cpu?


kukel
03-06-2005, 03:37 PM
Hey guys,


There is a new series P4 cpu's with 2 MB level 2 cache.

Would this be noticable in renderingspeed?


What about those Maxtor scsi 10,000 rpm Harddisks?

noticable in renderingspeed?

Does anyone knows this perhaps?

i ask this question because the guys at the computershop didnt know the answer, but they recomended it anyway... --> :deal:

Don Kayote
03-06-2005, 04:15 PM
I saw benchmarks at various websites and they all clame the same thing.


Pentium 4 with 2mb cache has no different in performance with the 1mb variant. But it comes with a lot of cool stuff that AMD is already offering.

And SCSI a.k.a "skeezy" is slower then the 10,000rpm SATA150. And Cheaper too.

Simon
03-06-2005, 04:51 PM
Hard disks dont really affect rendering time anyway.

kukel
03-06-2005, 07:32 PM
Riiight..

tnx for your reply.

Seems only raw cpu power makes the rendertime?

in that case,

well i go spent my money on a faster cpu then, or consider a dual xeon. With silent coolers on them in order not to go crazy...:D

el_diablo
03-06-2005, 07:48 PM
Hard disks dont really affect rendering time anyway.

As long as you can keep your whole scene in RAM memory.

lots
03-07-2005, 04:06 PM
If you're going to compare the top performers from SATA, why not compare to the top performer in SCSI?

10krpm is not the fastest SCSI you can buy, they're at 15krpm, and have been for a while now. Plus the SCSI interface operates off a 320 MegaByte/s transfer speed where SATA 150 runs off 150 MegaBytes/s. SATA II on the other hand may offer better comparison :)

CGTalk Moderation
03-07-2005, 04:06 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.