PDA

View Full Version : Where to start?

Nonproductive
09-19-2002, 02:03 PM
I am just learning Lightwave. I've used wings and animation master but decided I wanted to step up to a "real" 3D app.

soooooo...

I did my typical "jump in and see what happens" thing and have tried using all the main tools in Modeler. However, I am ready to dig into a book and learn the more subtle things. (Like where you click your mouse for tools like bend or rotate determines the point of origin - that cost me several clumps of yanked out hair...)

My question is: Which book?

I have Inside LW 7 and the LW 7 manual in front of me - which one would be better to go through 1st?

Or. alternately, can anyone suggest a better method of learning the nuances of LW?

LyonHaert
09-19-2002, 02:27 PM
actually, as far as where you click with your mouse determining the center of rotation, scale, etc., you can change that. at the bottom of the interface, next to the selection modes (Points, Polygons, etc.), is a button named Modes, and it is a drop-down menu that includes the following 4 items:

Action center: Mouse (centered on where you click)
Action center: Origin (centered on absolute origin)
Action center: Pivot (centered on that layer's Pivot Point)
Action center: Selection (centered on the calculated center of everything selected, especially useful for rotating at the center of a symmetrical selection)

i would suggest reading the first few chapters of both that deal only with specific general components of the program. Layout, Modeler, Surface Editor, etc.

i went through most of ILW7 first, but i'm now reading the manual and have learned a few new things. ILW7 works more on the tutorial level, while the manual is for reference.

Nonproductive
09-19-2002, 06:43 PM
Thank you LyonHaert!

The mode menu was something I clicked accidentally one day. Had I RTFM first - I would still have a full head of hair :)