PDA

View Full Version : Resolutions & Formats

adrenalinestudios
03-02-2005, 02:28 PM
I guess you could say I am new to this game, I do a fair bit of compsiting work with footage from DV video, 16mm and 35mm film. So far everything I have done has been worked on at PAL 720x576 and either 4:3 or 16:9. So far I have yet to have any problems with this. But I have been trying to learn about a few things and have been getting a little confused. I need to know;

1. what is 2k and 4k and what pixel Width & Heights are they?
2. Is PAL resolution actually 720x576 or is it 768x576?
3. What is HD, is it just a larger resolution? What res is it actually?
4. When matte painting what sizes should my images be?
5. Are all of these different sizes 72dpi?

Please excuse my ignorance is this matter.

Aruna
03-02-2005, 05:45 PM
1. what is 2k and 4k and what pixel Width & Heights are they?

2K usually refers to 2048x1556 film frame. Different studios may use variations of this size, as some may scan this film frame in at a slightly higher 2K resolution. 4K is just double the 2K res, 4092x3112.

2. Is PAL resolution actually 720x576 or is it 768x576?

Not familiar with PAL, but I'd hazard a guess and say 720x576. Maybe someone in the PAL broadcasting industry will correct me.

3. What is HD, is it just a larger resolution? What res is it actually?

HD is a number of different sizes, but all of them have a pixel aspect of 1, and a frame aspect of 16x9. The resolutions are 480i, 480p, 720i, 720p, 1080i, 1080p. p stands for progressive, and i stands for interlaced. These are vertical resolutions.. To get the horizontal res, divide by nine and multiply by 16.

853x480
1280x720
1920x1080

4. When matte painting what sizes should my images be?

Depends on what your output resolution will be, and how detailed you want it.

5. Are all of these different sizes 72dpi?