PDA

View Full Version : Compositing 3d animation in real live enviroments. Please help me!

theforce121
03-02-2005, 01:26 AM
Hi ALL,

I have created an 3d animation is 3ds max and want to add it to a footage i filmed using a DV camera. (so the 3d animation looks like it is part of that footage)

What i have done so far....

I have rendered my animation from 3ds max with a blue background and then improted in to After Effects which i then keyed the blue so my Dv footage appears in the background.

Problems i am having...

When the camera moves in my dv footage it does not match the animation.

Is there a way to match the camera? I am i doing this right? what is the best way to add 3d to a filmed footage?

I am using after effects 6, please please guide me in the right way as every thing i do just does not look right.

I am new to all this and hope i dont sound to silly.

Thanking you all in advance.

Take care

Please Please help me.

John

leigh
03-02-2005, 04:24 AM
Firstly, there is no need to render with a blue background. Render to an 32-bit image-based sequence so that you can use the saved images alpha channel to composite it onto the footage.

Secondly, you have to match-move your camera. There are several software packages available for this (Matchmover, Boujou, etc) but I am not sure how much they cost, or if there are any free ones available. If the camera move is simple, you might want to try matching it by eye.

theforce121
03-02-2005, 07:51 PM
Hi All,

Thank you for the help Leigh! I now have a clear understanding about camera match, thank you so much.

But i still dont get what you meant by advising me to:

"Render to an 32-bit image-based sequence so that you can use the saved images alpha channel to composite it onto the footage"

are these individual image files? Please could you explain this to me as i really dont understand.

I am really sorry if i do sound silly.

Take care All and thank you

John

polyman
03-02-2005, 08:23 PM