PDA

View Full Version : Colour Grading Matrix Style

DR01D*
03-01-2005, 11:34 PM
I have been throught the forums and havent found anything specific to this request so here goes.

I want to achieve a colour effect similar to movies like the matrix. now before all of you jump on me and talk about film, lighting, exposures etc, im thinking in post. I have found many tutorials on acheiving the film look but im after more specific info on contrasts, colour settings, saturation etc.

i am also working in dv so i wont be going down the film road. will be workin with the cannon xl2s and a half decent pc setup. I am an established designer in web and print so i have a good knowledge of colour correcting/manipulation in photoshop but am keen to learn how to do it for video.

thanx.

Ian Jones
03-02-2005, 08:38 AM
Any video app worth using will have colour adjustment tools. If you want better control though you need a compositing app such as Adobe After Effects, Discreet Combustion or Apple Shake... or for ultimate control there are specific colour grading programs, I think 'Da vinci' is one? I'm not sure of the name, google it.

I use AfterFX and I would probably use the channel mixer. Lots of subtle control over tonal changes and colour, especially if you use multiple layers and experiment a bit with blending modes.

DR01D*
03-02-2005, 12:27 PM
thanx i have had a play with combustion a while ago and was impressed, didnt use it for what i wanted at the time though. i havent used after effects fully but will have another look.

so are there preset colour adjustments that can give a desired look or is it all pretty much adjust and experiment yourself? I can create a similar style on stills in photoshop, is the concept pretty much the same for dv?

boboroshi
03-05-2005, 06:45 PM