PDA

View Full Version : smooth to sharp edge transition, Darth Vader mask, 3dsMAX

Phelonius
03-01-2005, 11:11 AM
Hi All,

noob and first time poster here so hope i get it right ;-)

I am new to 3dMAX and have given myself a few learning projects to try to get my head

around it a little. One of the things i picked to start off the top of my head was

the Darth Vader mask from star wars since it has a pretty good range of features to

try poly modeling on.

However, Im running into a big problem and dont know if its my workflow, or if there

are some tricks i can use to get this right.

In the pic below you can see that the 'mouth' area is the issue im struggling with.

This should be completely angular with sharp edges (pic 1), whereas the rest of the

piece is smooth, or has slightly more rounded/filleted edges. Now, this is all one

piece and Ive poly modeled it. I have tried a few things and this is where Im

getting frustrated.

If i try to put in detail at the 0 level around the mouth, ie chamfering slightly all

of those edges, there are all sorts of horrible things that happen, ie lots of

irregular ngons and tris forming etc and it obviously looks horrid when using NURMS

output. It actually looks similar to just using a NURMS output whilst leaving all

those edges alone (pic 2).

One approach I have tried is using MSmooth on all the faces except the mouth part,

and then using NURMS level 1 (see pic 3) which does ok except for the incorrect

shading on the bits of the mouth that are supposed to be planar. I am aware that

this is because its a many-sided nGon in effect, because of the geometry there, but

tesselating it, or breaking it up more creates the problem in pic 4, that is, all of

those faces must remain planar to each other.

I have struggled for hours with this going around in great detail trying to doctor

each face/edge etc, but I think that is really sloppy and I want to get off on the

right foot here. Can anyone suggest some tips for me?