PDA

View Full Version : maya modeling question


luma clark
02-27-2005, 09:41 PM
hi. i'm new to maya. i used to use max. and in max you can use splines and connect them to create your object. my two questions are:

1. is it possible to model the way i described above, in maya? otherwise, how would i go about modeling something using reference photos?

2. how can i model using sharp corners as opposed to the default curves that come out?

pease help.

thanks,

luma

DirtEater
02-28-2005, 01:53 AM
Yes, you can model with Nurbs in Maya, and the type of curves you use and the tool settings will determine how your curves behave.

You would probably get a lot more help if you posted this in the Maya forum here, also have a look through the posts already there by doing a search on Nurbs.

Jason

luma clark
02-28-2005, 01:57 AM
okay. but how do i make the different curves required? and what tools do you mean? please explain everything. i'm new to maya.

also, how would i go about making the curves into a surface?

also,thanks for the tip. i'll post this in the maya forum.

thanks. {^_^}

-luma

Yes, you can model with Nurbs in Maya, and the type of curves you use and the tool settings will determine how your curves behave.

You would probably get a lot more help if you posted this in the Maya forum here, also have a look through the posts already there by doing a search on Nurbs.

Jason

luma clark
02-28-2005, 02:27 AM
okayyyyy!!! :) i figured this out. you hinted me when you said tool settings so i said logically, tool settings. duh!! it lets me pick the point type. also, i figured out how to make the curves into a surface using the planar command. yeeeeeeehhaaawwwwwwwww.
:bounce:

just one more question: once i have made my curve, how can i change any given point type? for instance, a corner to curve etc....

also, one more question, is it possible to use beziers to make my curves? you know, the points with handles. you see, i'm a font designer and beziers are so intuitive to me.

please help.

thanks a bunch for your help,

luma

Yes, you can model with Nurbs in Maya, and the type of curves you use and the tool settings will determine how your curves behave.

You would probably get a lot more help if you posted this in the Maya forum here, also have a look through the posts already there by doing a search on Nurbs.

Jason

CGTalk Moderation
02-28-2006, 03:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.