PDA

View Full Version : "save image as"


Somhairle
02-24-2005, 11:23 PM
Hi All,

Is it possible (I'm sure it is) to change the default "save image as" file type in render view? (The default is *.iff) - any suggestions?

maybe something in the maya.env file like: MAYA_SAVE_IMAGE = JPEG ? ? ?

thanks in advance,

- Somhairle

slipknot66
02-24-2005, 11:32 PM
yes... go to File...Save Image....Files of Type... and then chose among the various options available.. jpg...tga..etc:eek:

Somhairle
02-24-2005, 11:40 PM
yes... go to File...Save Image....Files of Type... and then chose among the various options available.. jpg...tga..etc:eek:

LOL :applause: - That part I know!! But is there a way that the DEFAULT is jpeg (for example). So that I don't HAVE to keep changing the default *.iff to *.jpeg ? ? ?

- Somhairle

Somhairle
02-25-2005, 06:26 AM
I suppose it could be found somewhere like this...this was found in the "createImageFormats.mel"

global proc createImageFormats( )
{
global string $imgExt[]; // This is the actual file extension
global int $imgExtNum[]; // This is the corresponding internal value
global string $imfKey[]; // This is the unique imf keyword

if (`about -nt`) {
$imgExt[0] = "als"; $imgExtNum[0] = 6; $imfKey[0] = "als";
$imgExt[1] = "avi"; $imgExtNum[1] = 23; $imfKey[1] = "avi";
$imgExt[2] = "cin"; $imgExtNum[2] = 11; $imfKey[2] = "cin";
$imgExt[3] = "dds"; $imgExtNum[3] = 35; $imfKey[3] = "dds";
$imgExt[4] = "eps"; $imgExtNum[4] = 9; $imfKey[4] = "eps";
$imgExt[5] = "gif"; $imgExtNum[5] = 0; $imfKey[5] = "gif";
$imgExt[6] = "jpeg"; $imgExtNum[6] = 8; $imfKey[6] = "jpg";
$imgExt[7] = "iff"; $imgExtNum[7] = 7; $imfKey[7] = "maya";
$imgExt[8] = "iff"; $imgExtNum[8] = 10; $imfKey[8] = "maya";
$imgExt[9] = "png"; $imgExtNum[9] = 32; $imfKey[9] = "png";
$imgExt[10] = "yuv"; $imgExtNum[10] = 12; $imfKey[10] = "yuv";
$imgExt[11] = "rla"; $imgExtNum[11] = 2; $imfKey[11] = "rla";
$imgExt[12] = "sgi"; $imgExtNum[12] = 5; $imfKey[12] = "sgi";
$imgExt[13] = "sgi"; $imgExtNum[13] = 13; $imfKey[13] = "sgi";
$imgExt[14] = "pic"; $imgExtNum[14] = 1; $imfKey[14] = "si";
$imgExt[15] = "tga"; $imgExtNum[15] = 19; $imfKey[15] = "tga";
$imgExt[16] = "tif"; $imgExtNum[16] = 3; $imfKey[16] = "tif";
$imgExt[17] = "tif"; $imgExtNum[17] = 4; $imfKey[17] = "tif";
$imgExt[18] = "bmp"; $imgExtNum[18] = 20; $imfKey[18] = "bmp";
// dummy for all newly added imf plugins
$imgExt[19] = "imf"; $imgExtNum[19] = 50; $imfKey[19] = "";

appendImfPluginInfo();

Somhairle
02-25-2005, 06:29 AM
and this "setMayaSoftwareImageFormat.mel":


global proc setMayaSoftwareImageFormat(string $format)
{
global string $imfKey[]; // This is the unique imf keyword
global int $imgExtNum[]; // Corresponding internal value
int $i;
int $size = size($imfKey);

// If the file format array has not been initialized yet, do so.
// This routine may be called in dynPaintMenus.mel during the
// file save for PFX canvas images.
//
if ($size == 0)
{
createImageFormats();
$size = size($imfKey);
}

for ($i=0 ; $i<$size ; $i++)
{
if ($format == $imfKey[$i])
{
setAttr -l 0 defaultRenderGlobals.imageFormat;
setAttr defaultRenderGlobals.imageFormat $imgExtNum[$i];
return;
}
}
}

##############

any ideas? :shrug:

- Somhairle

Somhairle
03-02-2005, 03:35 AM
Hi all,

Anyone got any ideas on this?

- Somhairle

dudders
03-02-2005, 09:38 AM
render globals window > presets.
Make your preset and then set preferred preset to make it stick when opening the application again.

Somhairle
03-06-2005, 10:48 AM
render globals window > presets.
Make your preset and then set preferred preset to make it stick when opening the application again.

I've always had the presets set up that way in the renderglobals. (ie. somhairle_quality render, somhairle_draft, etc) but that only affects the render scene formats. not the render frame. it STILL always defaults to ".iff"

Well, it's just while setting up the scene, lighting, etc at the start to see everythings ok. and using it eg. next week as a reference point. (will I go more this way OR that way) as the actual look of the scene could be quite different. know what I mean? I really like to experiment.

Just wondering how I could change the "save as" so its default IS ".jpeg/jpg" not ".iff" - but of course ".iff" would be somewhere further down the list.

Any ideas? I'm sure there's a way.....somehow! :)

Stahlberg
03-06-2005, 04:45 PM
Yeah damn that's annoying, those extra 2 clicks every time.
A related one - whenever you want to export or import a shader the default file format is images, instead of listing all.
And, maybe less related - the default quality for jpegs is still 75%. weird :(

Cameo
03-06-2005, 06:03 PM
The whole image file format thing with Maya is really odd. No parameters to edit for quality etc etc. Its like 'get what youre given'. Ok so most people have access to some kind of image editor as well but it would still be nice to have control over these types of things, sometimes you dont want to go into another prog, you just want to go with it.

Somhairle
03-07-2005, 07:48 AM
...And, maybe less related - the default quality for jpegs is still 75%. weird :(

Hi Steve,

I'm so glad to see other people feel the same. I thought it was perhaps too much of a pet peeve! But when I am working a LOT with characters..it gets annoying ;)

put this is the maya.env file:

#

AW_JPEG_Q_FACTOR = 100

#

or if your bored set it to 10 :)

CGTalk Moderation
03-07-2005, 07:48 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.