PDA

View Full Version : The BEST spine rig?

jgibz
02-24-2005, 10:43 PM
...For a cartoon character?

Im working with a little squishy biped guy, and I've rigged just about everything how I like except for the spine.
Im a bit new to rigging, I'v tried making some constraint bones that lay directly ontop of each spine joint. I then oreint constrain them to the bones driving the mesh, and then connect thier rotation to my spine control. This usually works well for rotations, but I need somthing that will work well with translations as well (for squash&stretch).

I've heard about using clusters and and spline Ik but Im a bit clueless when it come to using those things to make a good spine rig.

Any help/suggestions/links would be great.

sneezy
02-25-2005, 01:59 AM
You might try the "divine spine" tutorial at http://www.peachpit.com/articles/article.asp?p=102262&seqNum=4

ietra
02-25-2005, 04:03 PM
Yeah, that'd be my recommendation too. It takes a little work, but it gives you really nice results.

steveblake
02-25-2005, 04:22 PM
and/or take a look at David Walden's: IK-Spline spine setup (http://www.davidwalden.com/tutorials/spine/tutorial_spine.htm)

- Also, the whole setup is nicely automated as part of his dwRiggingTools (http://www.davidwalden.com/mel_frameset.htm) , you've got a complete modular rigging suite there (works with your own rigs too)

:)

kiaran
02-28-2005, 12:06 AM
I like pure FK. Easy to setup and animate. Stability can be a life saver in a production.

jgibz
03-02-2005, 01:29 AM
Thanks for the feedback everyone. I tried the second tut posted, and it worked out just as the tut said it would, however the character Im working on doesnt have a head and only 3 spine joints. I messed around for a bit and finally I found somthing that works fairly well (havent tested with anims yet though).