PDA

View Full Version : Cartoon Filter?

christophersean
02-24-2005, 09:43 PM
Hiya gang! I'm a newbie in the world of After Effects and was looking for some different effects to mess around with. In particular , I was wondering if there were any Cartoon Filters and which would would you recommend?

I've been reading a little about BORIS but not able to discern if it's the only one and what exactly its capabilites are. Any information or guidance would be grealy appreciated.

Christopher

RichardBlank
05-03-2005, 08:30 AM
I'm looking for a Cartoonfilter, please tell me if you find one:)

R

Mylenium
05-03-2005, 11:34 AM
Not really if you mean it in a sense that it will take any footage and convert it into a comic. Most techniques involve combos of several filters and effects such as Posterize, Threshold and a few others. Boris Cartooner is so-so, if you're looking for a better outline plugin use Image Lounge Border Patrol.

Mylenium

klingspor
05-03-2005, 11:35 AM
Please explain what you expect this "Cartoon filter" to do... cartoon is a whole genre of film and I doubt you expect a filter that covers all areas.

Mylenium
05-03-2005, 11:38 AM
Please explain what you expect this "Cartoon filter" to do... cartoon is a whole genre of film and I doubt you expect a filter that covers all areas.

Hoho, hope Brad Bird never hears about this, it would upset him. Cartoon/ Animation is not a genre, it's a technique (as so well stated in "The Incredibles" director's commentary).

Mylenium

hiphopcr
05-03-2005, 04:53 PM
Take your footage and add a:

Gaussian Blur: 2.3
Contrast: 26
Find Edges: Blend 0%
Saturation: -100
Contrast: 37

Change the blending mode to Linear Burn

Drop down another layer of the same footage underneath it (without any effects, just the source layer) and add a:

Gaussian Blur: 6.8
Channel Combiner: RGB to YUV
Gamma/Pedestal/Gain: Red, Blue, Green Gain 0.5
Gamma/Pedestal/Gain: Red, Blue, Green Gain 2
Channel Combiner: YUV to RGB
Brightness: 21
Posterize: 8