PDA

View Full Version : Multiple IK Goal Tutorial Idea...:)

jjburton
09-17-2002, 08:50 PM
LONG VERSION: Hey guys and gals. A couple weeks ago I was in here asking about Spline based IK in Lightwave for a character of mine. Told there wasn't any, I was determined to figure out how to do what I wanted to do some way. One day, I was looking at Dan Albee's CD Content, more namely the wolf rig. He's got a pretty cool rig for the tail with multiple goals and actually bones on top of bones. I spent the next week breaking that apart and trying it with my character. Burning some pretty serious midnight oil, I've come up with a pretty workable solution that works really well for me so far. I'm rendering my first movement test with said character as I type this.

Anyway, since I had such a hard time finding any good info on how to do multiple goal Ik Rigs, I thought I'd do a tutorial. I'm a newbie still (less than 1 year with Lightwave), but maybe that will help me explain it better:). The point of this post is see if any one is interested in a tutorial like this. I'd like to know before I put the time into it.

SHORT VERSION:If you don't want to read all of that mumbo jumbo. Look at the attaced image, would like a tutorial that would teach you how to do something like that?

jjburton
09-17-2002, 08:51 PM
If you check out the animation when I post it. The entire body movement is done with animating 2 bones and a whole lot of followers:).

policarpo
09-17-2002, 09:07 PM
yes
yes
yes

i'm sure Proton would be willing to post it at the Newtek site when you're done with it.

can't wait to see the animation.

-policarpo

Labuzz
09-17-2002, 09:07 PM