PDA

View Full Version : bevel problem


hobbit72
09-15-2002, 11:19 PM
I need to put a very small bevel on the polygons circled in red in the picture attached. I kinda forget to do it in the beginning, and now its a bit late. Selecting the indicated polygons and doing a normal bevel makes funny little blocks because it puts a bevel on each of the side polygons, instead of on all the selected ones as a unit.

Am I missing something, or doing something wrong?

Valkyrien
09-15-2002, 11:23 PM
the simplest way to fix this would be to weld all those polys together (Z), bevel as one, then split that huge poly where the leftover points are:) As for the parts that are wider than the rest of the edge polys...um..I dunno...:)

Joril
09-15-2002, 11:31 PM
Smooth shift can do that.
Just select the polygons you need, smooth shift em (just click, no drag) then go to the center of the machine-part and use the size tool. To adjust the polgon's height use the stretch tool in a side or front view.
Hope it helps!

Valkyrien
09-15-2002, 11:45 PM
heh, didn't think of that one;)

mjm
09-15-2002, 11:58 PM
Cman's Smoo for the ultimate control :)

hobbit72
09-16-2002, 06:42 AM
thanks joril

works like bomb. I would have never come up with that:applause:

mix
09-16-2002, 10:58 AM
Or you could use mentory, It can act like bansaw, but with a bevel instead of a simple cut.

If that makes sence.

wgreenlee1
09-16-2002, 11:52 PM
LOVE THAT SMOO!!!!:scream::drool:

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.