PDA

View Full Version : short animated story format

ZenMaster
02-17-2005, 02:51 AM
Hi,

I am a student at VFS in 2d animation. I need write a story for my final project. I was wondering if someone had some advice. Its due in a month. I pressing on the matter.

I started reading by the Writers Journey. I read the chapter on the heros journey. It was interesting. I thought it was a good start.

I am still worried if my story will keep its "integraty" after the storyboarding and production. I think what also important, is to have a good sense of timing.

Animation has limitation.

I can't tackle a difficult project.

I want to produce a short film of 1 minute of lenght. Character driven, maybe 2, and one location. I would like to show strong emotion thru posing and good acting.

I am being influence by children book like "Where are the wild things?", "Stinky Cheese", some others. The characters will be simple, simple shape. I am looking at alot of old Disney classics like Jungle book, Rescuers, Robin Hood, Sword in the stone.

Anybody has experience producing or writting short films?

Thx in advance,
LE

KarlSchroeder
02-17-2005, 02:46 PM
You're doing a very short piece, so it's not going to have the elements of a "hero's journey" type plot. It's a moment in time rather than an epic. You find the same thing with short stories versus novels: novels have all sorts of room to spread out and deal with multiple characters, different locations etc. A short story is more constrained to obey Aristotle's unities--unity of time, place, and character. For what you're looking at doing, therefore, it's one or two characters, one place, one scene.