PDA

View Full Version : Self Portrait

hxcomg
02-16-2005, 02:34 AM
http://hxcomg.com/selfportrait.gif

This is my first attempt at any kind of digital art. It's a picture of me done using several reference pictures. I'm getting very discouraged, so I thought I'd see if anyone could give me some pointers or advice. I also need to know what to do for the background. This was done in Photoshop CS. Thanks in advance.

robinayles
02-16-2005, 03:41 PM
That's really nice - especially for a first digital painting! Something in the eyebrows...or maybe the mouth...makes you look a little surprised. :)

Critique on this depends on the type of look you were going for. This is a nice, kind of loose painterly style and I like it alot. If you were wanting a more realistic look, then I would recommend a bit more blending of your colors and more variations of shading, highlights, lowlights, etc in the hair and shirt.

Really good job! Keep up the work. The best way to learn it is to keep practising.

Ilikesoup
02-16-2005, 10:14 PM
I agree -- I like the looseness of the paint strokes. I'd suggest adding highlights on your eyes (especially the right), hair and shirt and some shadow to your inner ear. I have no suggestions about a background -solid color is fine and red looks good with the pink tones of your skin.

BluePulse
02-16-2005, 11:05 PM