PDA

View Full Version : Rendering 48 or 64bit filetypes... Which ones?


Zhalktis
09-15-2002, 11:54 AM
Ok... I know it might sound stupid. :rolleyes:

I've read in a book ([digital] Lighting and rendering) that renderers usualy render the image at 64bits (16bits per channel) color depth, then clip it to 32bits. I've also read that it's possible to output a 64bit image.

Now please someone explaint to an idiot like me which filetypes are 64bits!
TGA, TIF, RAW, other?.. :curious:

Tons of thanks.

Chris
09-15-2002, 08:32 PM
I generally use RPF or RLA for 16bit renders. I think tiff supports it too. Dunno about others... :shrug:

Mauritius
09-17-2002, 01:35 PM
TIF and PNG support 16 Bit. TIF even support floating point.

When rendering 16bits, usually you use some sort of headroom mapping for intensities >1.

See http://www.dotcsw.com/doc/quantize.html

.mm

Mauritius
09-17-2002, 01:41 PM
I forgot to add: if you like to play with floating point TIF, download HDR Shop from http://www.debevec.org/

.mm

beaker
09-18-2002, 08:57 AM
SGI and IFF can render 16 bits per channel also. IFF supports float also(just not in maya, only shake) .

Zhalktis
09-19-2002, 05:01 AM
Thank you, guys! :bounce:
You saved me A LOT of time and effort.

Chris - I can see that RPF and RLA can render 16bit, but I also thought about a filetype that I could open with photoshop or similar app. It appears that ps doesn't support this filetype. :insane:

Mauritius - Yeah, I was thinking about the HDR shop... But does max's scanline renderer use these pics? :curious:

magnoborgo
09-19-2002, 02:12 PM
Photoshop suport 16 bit TIFF and IFF (with the free plugin of Alias Wavefront).

RealThing
09-19-2002, 02:45 PM
Photoshop really can't deal with anything but 8bit files...although it can read 16bit files most of the tools and filters will not work on them. So if you really want to do anything with higher bit depth images you should probably use a compositor that is designed for dealing with these bit depths. It's also important to note that these bit depths can often be an overkill so it's important to know when and why to use them or you'll just end up wasting alot of harddrive space and extra time processing the extra and unnecessary data.

magnoborgo
09-19-2002, 03:52 PM
Well remembered Realthing. Other option can be use some of the After Effects filters (that work in 16bit) but i think that you need the Pro bundle version. Or as you said go to the highend editors, i think Shake its the best handling this depth issues.

Zhalktis
09-22-2002, 02:34 PM
Thank you a million times! :)

I did notice that photoshop's filters get disabled when I convert the image to 16bit, but I thought that a higher version (I have 5 now) or another app would allow editing 16bit...

I'll take a look at "shake", if it really uses lots of space... I'll have to live with 8bit images. ;)

Thanks a lot for the info, guys! :D

beaker
09-22-2002, 07:56 PM
If you need to be able to paint in 16 bit then you can use:

Film Gimp, which is free: http://filmgimp.sourceforge.net/

or one of the commercial packages:
Iruna Photogenics: http://www.idruna.com/products.html
Amazon Paint(only runs on sgi or linux): http://www.ifx.com/pages/amazon/index.html

RealThing
09-22-2002, 08:03 PM
Originally posted by beaker
If you need to be able to paint in 16 bit then you can use:

Film Gimp, which is free: http://filmgimp.sourceforge.net/

or one of the commercial packages:
Iruna Photogenics: http://www.idruna.com/products.html
Amazon Paint(only runs on sgi or linux): http://www.ifx.com/pages/amazon/index.html

Yeah the film gimp project is a very interesting one. From what I understand the next step is to more or less put a photoshop like interface onto it so that photoshop users don't have any problems switching applications. When that happens I'll definitely make the switch. And in the future they are even talking about modifying film gimp to be a node based compositor.

beaker
09-22-2002, 08:15 PM
>>From what I understand the next step is to more or less put a photoshop like interface onto it so that photoshop users don't have any problems switching applications.

To me the current gimp interface/functionality is like photoshop 3 but with scripting and lots of plugins. Gimp 2.0 is supposed to be a total overhaul and they are using alot of the film gimp engines(gegl). Also your supposed to be able to easy change the interface with scripting, so you will be able to make it look like your favorite image editing app. Gimp will support 16 bit by default. Also with guys from R&H and Silicon Grail(Apple now) working on it, I think it will turn out to be a pretty cool free image editing app.
http://www.linuxjournal.com/article.php?sid=6148

Zhalktis
09-24-2002, 12:47 PM
Wow!.. From what I've heard, it appears that "gimp" is a cool app.
And I thought it only works on Linux. :curious:

Thanks guys! You helped me A LOT! ;)

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 04:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.