PDA

View Full Version : select obj from variabel


Armin A
02-15-2005, 11:33 PM
I think this is easy but I cant get it right. How can I select a object with help from string

test = "$Box01"
select test

NilreMK
02-15-2005, 11:50 PM
I think this is easy but I cant get it right. How can I select a object with help from string

test = "$Box01"
select test
The only way is to build a string and then to execute it like a command

test = "select $Box01"
execute test

Something like that

Bobo
02-16-2005, 12:23 AM
I think this is easy but I cant get it right. How can I select a object with help from string

test = "$Box01"
select test

Read the fine manual!
This has been put into the MAXScript Frequently Asked Questions in the MAXScript Reference for a good reason ;)

test = execute "$Box01"
select test

or

test = getNodeByName "Box01"
select test

Armin A
02-16-2005, 12:34 AM
Thanx, never saw that FAQ, alot of good info there...

CGTalk Moderation
02-16-2006, 01:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.