PDA

View Full Version : the opengl limit?

arramor
02-15-2005, 09:26 AM
I am still a bit new with 3d graphics and opengl. I am sorry if this question has been answered before, but i didn't really find any direct sort of answer anywhere. (maybe i just didn't understand or overlooked)

If i were to make a game, would opengl alone be enough? Do i need to write some sort of 3d graphics engine based on underlying opengl or is opengl alone sufficient? And if a 3d graphics engine is neccesary, what does it do exactly? Should i use sdl or glut? How strong a game can i make?

NOTE:
I don't want to download any existing easy-making 3d graphics engines that practically do everything for you. I wanna do all the hard work myself, excluding of course what opengl does.

playmesumch00ns
02-15-2005, 09:42 AM
OpenGL (and to a certain extent directX) is just a library of functions for drawing primitives to the screen.

It manages a graphics state of transformations and attributes using commands that you issure to it. Something like:
glColor3f( 1, 0, 0 ); // Set drawing colour to red
glTranslatef( 0, 0, 5 ); // Translate 5 units along z axis

glBegin( GL_TRIANGLES ); // Start drawing triangles
glVertex3f( -1, -1, 0 ); // Specify vertices
glVertex3f( 1, -1, 0 ); // ''
glVertex3f( 0, 1, 0 ); // ''
glEnd(); // Stop drawing

Obviously it gets a lot more complicated than that, but that's about the level of operations you do.

For writing a game, you'll need to write classes that store and use, for example, data for models, textures, shaders, animation, the scene graph, all the game code itself such as AI, physics, controller input, sound etc. Not to mention that you'll need to do lots of culling so that you don't give OpenGL too much to draw at once. Oh and you'll need all the maths libraries too...

Take a look at some game engines to see the scale of the sort of thing required, like ogre or neo, or torque (google for them)

arramor
02-15-2005, 09:32 PM
thanks for reply, p