PDA

View Full Version : Quadro 4 900 XGL like GeForce FX5200 ????


XPanic
02-14-2005, 01:35 PM
I comrades!!!


Just a question... i've just installed an nVidia Quadro 4 900 XGL in place of my old GeForce FX5200, but the new graphic card seems to work just like the FX5200!!!

I've not see any improvement due to hardware OpenGL!

Maybe i'm wrong in installation??

P.S. I'm using LW8

jbw
02-14-2005, 02:15 PM
I doubt you'd see much difference between the two cards in LW. I run a quadro 4 750 at home and a geforce 4200 at work and I don't see any real difference between the two cards when working on the majority of scenes. Also you have to remember that LW isn't as picky about it's graphics card (apart from the FireGL 8800... grrr) as other highend packages like Maya or 3dsMax. I also don't believe it really makes use of highend card features either. Even so I would say that at higher polycounts the quadro might come into it's own... can't say for sure though.

ta,
jbw

XPanic
02-15-2005, 11:16 AM
LightWave can use all hardware openGL features with the ATI FireGL 8800 ??

jbw
02-15-2005, 11:19 AM
Sorry, no the FireGL 8800 doesn't even display the interface correctly, it's the most useless graphics card I've ever used. Sorry to cause any confusion I mentioned it because it's the only graphics card I've ever bought that couldn't display Lightwave correctly.

Apologies,
jbw

XPanic
02-15-2005, 11:58 AM
Ahhh ok!! :)


I'm looking for a fully compatible opengl graphic card to use with LW.... but i think that the problem is LW!

ktamiola
02-15-2005, 12:35 PM
Hi...!

Simply buy a Geforce 6XXX (depending on Your financial status) and mod it. For more information: how to do it and performance refer to: www.guru3d.com (http://www.guru3d.com) forum - section Riva Tuner. You will find all answers there!

Hint :shrug: :

Do not invest in ATI if You are interested in PRO apps. Their cards are powerful from hardware side but drivers are rubbish!

Good luck!

jbw
02-15-2005, 12:39 PM
If I was you I'd sell both the FX5200 and the Quadro and get a geforce 6 as ktamiola suggests. If you don't use any other 3d software like Maya or Max, for Lightwave a geforce 6 will do you fine. Up to you if you mod it or not.

ta,
jbw

XPanic
02-15-2005, 01:44 PM
Thank you guys!!! :thumbsup:

sande
02-16-2005, 09:27 AM
Like said before, Lightwave doesn't benefit much from a faster graphics card - a faster CPU affects much more. Seems to me like the whole OpenGL-implementation in Lightwave should be rewrited...

I have to use Lightwave at work with a relatively slow CPU and GeForce FX 5200 and especially modeler is so slow it hurts. A lot.

Congratulations on getting rid of that FX5200 though... =)

imashination
02-16-2005, 09:42 AM
Your 5200 was already fully compatible with LW. The quadro you just purchsed is no faster than the old card you had. You shouldnt have done a bit of research first, a geforce 6800 would have been a much better card for use with lightwave.

CGTalk Moderation
02-16-2006, 10:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.