PDA

View Full Version : Shout out to ALL the SELF TAUGHT 3d cg artists...

ShinZo
02-13-2005, 06:08 PM
Hello,
how is everyone?

The reason I started this thread is because I had some questions.
How many of the artists here are self taught and are in good jobs?
How hard is it for someone who is self taught to get a job?
Do you get a job based on your demo reels or you college education?
How hard is to get freelance work? and what kind of money is involved? Is it betetr than a regular cg job in the same field?

can someone be self taught with gnomon or other similar tutorial dvds and or books?

Everyone fitting in, please do reply

Thankyou everyone for your time.

eraser851
02-13-2005, 06:14 PM
yea, i would like to know about this as well...im teaching myself 3ds max.

davijin
02-13-2005, 06:32 PM
There are alot of threads on Cgtalk that discuss all of these topics. just search the forums and you should be able to find out all of the info you need

chal7ds
02-13-2005, 08:06 PM
I'm new to CG..but I have a friend who's making six figures. He's got a job out in California
for a 3D company..and he only went to school for 3D for a year! pretty cool...but talent is also a big part of it.

otacon
02-13-2005, 08:13 PM
Im self taught with a pretty good job right now. Ive only ever bought 1 training book, and i never even finished that. I got noticed by posting my work on forums like this. You can have some awesome stuff, but if nobody ever sees it then theres no point. You have to market yourself.

bobtronic
02-13-2005, 09:17 PM
I am self taught too. Its quite hard to find a job here in Germany as autodidact.

Bob

leigh
02-13-2005, 09:33 PM
This topic has come up numerous times in the past and there are already very many interesting discussions on it here on CGTalk.