PDA

View Full Version : New to Maya - Need help making stalactites...

chal7ds
02-13-2005, 06:57 AM
Hello All,

I am new to Maya, just purchased Unlimited 6. I am creating an animation (eventually)
where the user will fly through a cave tunnel (surrounded by stalactites) and chains are
hanging from the ceiling swinging back and forth with lightbulbs on the end of them, which will flicker on and off.

To begin modeling, I need to create the floor, wall, and ceiling of the cavern stalactites. The problem is..I'm new to modeling and scared to know where to start!! I read the "Getting Started with Maya" book that came with my software..but I still feel like I need some kind of jumpstart into this..so I know I'm sord've headed down the right path. Sooooo...if anyone out there knows the best way to start sculpting 3D stalactites in Maya..please help!

Obviously, I will probably want to start with a cone primitive...but which one? Polygon? NURB?
volume? Subdiv? ...and from there...i will want to make it look scraggly and chipped and sharp in areas, so how do I manipulate the cone in these ways? Turn the cone to faces and extrude, or use the push brush? what?!?

Anyone know a good way to get a good jump start on this?

any hlp much appreciated...

chal7ds
02-13-2005, 10:41 PM
Here is a copy of my file that i have done so far...

remember, this is my first maya file i've ever done so far so...

Any help on getting this to look like a cave tunnel eventually would be greatly appreciated...

thanx...

meatpuppet
02-16-2005, 11:54 PM
check out the attachment, it's what i came up with in a few minutes...

1. basically make a poly cube with divisions
2. round it off
2. grab random polygons on the 'floor' and 'ceiling'
3. polyextrude them (different ones different amounts)
4. polysmooth
5. add random 'organic-ness' (i used lattices and a mel script: GuilsPolyNoise v2.0 (http://www.highend3d.com/files/dl.3d?group=melscripts&file_loc=GuilsNoise_v-v2.0-.2.0.zip&file_id=1925))