PDA

View Full Version : Tracing lines on a jpeg/bmp?


ringoffire
02-10-2005, 05:52 PM
Trying to work on an architectural model and instead of tracing the lines on a jpeg myself I was thinking of perhaps using a Maxscript for that. I had a look at http://www.scriptspot.com etc. but couldn't find what I needed, could you guys perhaps recommentd something to me for this task?

ringoffire
02-14-2005, 06:00 PM
Anyone? I could really appreciate some help on this please...

ofer_z
02-14-2005, 08:14 PM
hi,

i'm not sure about scripting this, but you could use a program that traces an image into vector format and then import that into max.

check out these links:
http://potrace.sourceforge.net/
http://autotrace.sourceforge.net/


hOpe this helps,
o

soshiant
02-14-2005, 09:02 PM
Trying to work on an architectural model and instead of tracing the lines on a jpeg myself I was thinking of perhaps using a Maxscript for that. I had a look at http://www.scriptspot.com (http://www.scriptspot.com/) etc. but couldn't find what I needed, could you guys perhaps recommentd something to me for this task?

U can search for "edge ditection algorithms" and then try them in maxscript but it is not going to be fast.

whooosh
02-15-2005, 07:37 PM
if the above solutions don't work, try Adobe Streamline if you can find it. It traces the lines and then, convert it into an Illustrator format. Export as DXF, import into Max or Maya.

CGTalk Moderation
02-15-2006, 08:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.