PDA

View Full Version : Gmax maxscript

pabtyf
02-10-2005, 01:31 PM
Hi there.
I'm totally new to all this but i'll try and make myself clear.

I'm trying to edit modells for a game using gmax (and renx gamepack).
I've got the 'skin' bound to the spacewarp with the bones etc.

What I want to do is select the vertices by number here so I can bind them to the right bones (using an existing model as reference).

I found a script for it:
setVertSelection (getCurrentSelection()) #(1)

but this only works in editable mesh mode.
is there a way i can do the same thing when binding verts to bones.

if I type getCurrentSelection() it shows that the mesh is selected, and not any verts that I have selected.

Can anyone help?

Bobo
02-10-2005, 04:07 PM
Hi there.
I'm totally new to all this but i'll try and make myself clear.

I'm trying to edit modells for a game using gmax (and renx gamepack).
I've got the 'skin' bound to the spacewarp with the bones etc.

What I want to do is select the vertices by number here so I can bind them to the right bones (using an existing model as reference).

I found a script for it:
setVertSelection (getCurrentSelection()) #(1)

but this only works in editable mesh mode.
is there a way i can do the same thing when binding verts to bones.

if I type getCurrentSelection() it shows that the mesh is selected, and not any verts that I have selected.

Can anyone help?

Gmax was based on the Max 4 core. I am not completely sure that the function to select vertices in Skin was available in Gmax, but you might want to try it out and see if it does anything:

From the MAXScript Reference:

skinOps.SelectVertices <Skin> ( <vertex_integer> | <vertex_array > | <<vertex_bitarray> )
Selects the specified vertices.

This means that if your mesh has a Skin modifier, the above syntax would be used like this:

skinOps.SelectVertices $.skin 1 --select one vertex
skinOps.SelectVertices $.skin #(1,2,3,4,5,6,7,8,9,10,20,100) --select multiple vertices