PDA

View Full Version : newbies-smooth bind info

roberte
02-08-2005, 05:56 PM
At the risk of this info being in error I want to share a discovery I just made.
I have been using maya 6 for 4 months and, just a few days ago, began attempting to create a skeleton for a hand. Although I still do not understand the process I got as far as to attempt to smooth bind the skin. I have struggled for 2 days too accomplish this, following, carefully, the tutorials I had available, with no success. I was beginning with my hand skin as an object, as all the tutorials said was to select it and the skeleton and smooth bind. Finally, in sheer frustration, I changed to vertex mode and lo and behold. when I selected the skeleton and the hand vertices and did a smooth bind that is what I got!
Now, this might be totally in error and, if so, I would definitely appreciate input but it is very similar to many manuals and tuts. We are expected to know these things.
I, (as a newbie), feel completely overwhelmed and often stupified by the data it is necessery to know and I hope tut writers will take this into consideration. Some newbies (like me) know and understand nothing! We are like babies who have yet to learn to crawl.
I hope this helps someone.

john_homer
02-09-2005, 04:20 AM
I'm sorry, but your post makes no sence to me..

it sounds like you are saying you have to select all the verts/CV's to do a smooth bind.

this is not true.
just select the surface in the viewport, and some joints and then smoothBind.

you can select the verts if you want, but only if you eant to limit the membership...

sorry if I misunderstood...

.j

roberte
02-09-2005, 09:11 AM
When you say select the surface, just how do you mean that. How, otherwise do you select it?