PDA

View Full Version : Quadraped Rig

marvelatthedust
02-08-2005, 02:33 AM
I recently decided to start a rigging reel for when I graduate, so as to be at least somewhat marketable, and I like to rig, from what little i've done. My problem is that i've looked arround a little and haven't found a lot of tute's on a quadraped rig... anyone out there able to help me?

thanks!

seven6ty
02-08-2005, 04:40 AM
Any specific questions about it?

eek
02-08-2005, 10:18 AM
Do a search for quadraped rigs, in this forum. I posted a few for max here, you could take apart. If you cant find them, tell me and ill post one up.

eek

marvelatthedust
02-09-2005, 02:32 AM
I am afraid my specific questions may show my ignorance, but as I am still a student, I hope it's forgivable :O
Questions would actually start at: where do I start? i am using a puma as my model, have not modeled it yet, but have made a diagram of where the pivot points should be along the spine and down the legs. I am very much aware that cats are very flexible, and so my rig will have to be able to reflect that, mostly by the back legs being able to cross the front legs when it is running, also having the legs walk in an alternating pattern, so the back left and front right are in the middle, whilst the back right and front left are extended, so how can I achieve those two effects with the least fuss?
I think that those questions are the first ones that come to mind...
I also hope that by so stating my extreme ignorance I'm not simply banned from the forums altogether...
thanks for the help!
-ian

seven6ty
02-09-2005, 03:42 AM
Nah, get used to it, you'll have to show your ignorance day to day if you ever wanna get good. :)

It's good to ask questions, and always good for the most detailed question you can come up with, so that people can give you specific advice on what you're looking for.