PDA

View Full Version : T-Spline FFDs?

nurcc
02-07-2005, 07:53 PM
Hey, have a couple of quick questions for you guys..

I'm a developer/researcher with T-Splines. We were thinking about other applications of the technology, and were wondering if there would be much use for a T-Spline Lattice deformer. That is, instead of a complete lattice (3d grid), being able to split subsections where you need more control, while keeping other areas more simple.

I guess the first question I have is if there are performance problems with using a normal lattice in Maya.

The second question is whether there's any possible benefit to having local detail in a lattice. Would that be helpful?

Thanks.

zkanal
02-07-2005, 08:25 PM
I for one would find it VERY useful :)
There has been many times where I have been missing a feature like that.
Of course one could do practically the same thing with a wrap deformer based on a poly object with localized detail, but it's painfully slow and files get huge.
And no, I think the lattice is quite fast in maya.

Also as long as you are on "the line" here, I would like to take the opportunity to ask a bit about textures on T-spline .. will it be like nurbs with pre defined coordinates for placing textures, or will it more resemble traditional UV-mapping?

nurcc
02-07-2005, 11:36 PM
UV mapping on T-Splines is a little bit complicated, but here's as good a place as any to explain it.

The first thing to explain is that there are two cases for the topology of T-Splines - T-Nurcc and T-Grid. A T-Nurcc is like a SubD, while a T-Grid is like a Nurbs. There's a little Venn diagram here: http://www.tsplines.com/FAQ.html#compatibility

So, if you're a T-Grid, there is a global parameterization that you can use as a UV mapping. However, you can also edit that parameterization like you would edit a polygon's UV map, using all the same tools.

If you're a T-Nurcc, there is no global parameterization, but you can use all the poly UV mapping tools.