PDA

View Full Version : triangles vs quadrangles

raphii
02-07-2005, 09:46 AM
Hi.
Just a quick question: I'm new to 3D and wondering: what's the big difference between triangles and quadrangles. I read some things on the web about it and now i'm confused about how i should model... On some pages i read that rendertimes can be lower using tri's instead of quad's. I also saw that if i export models to applications like realflow, it triangulates them all. is it better to just work with triangles and try to avoid quads?

blackwood
02-07-2005, 04:13 PM
You can try modeling using tri's but i dont recommend it.
Thats why we use quads, its easier for us to create shapes using polygons with more than 3 sides, then you let the computer triangulate it when its rendering or exporting. If you export a model to whatever realflow uses (I don't know of this program) i assume it triangulates it in the export process. Adjusting this model will now be more diffiicult.

The reason for using quads is a more complicated affair invloving the smoothing of edges on meshes. This site and many others have tutorials/advice on this.

- Lee

ivo-D
02-09-2005, 11:21 AM
quads smooth better, when added a smooth modifier to your model when done, triangles can also caus really nasty deformation when animating, see for example the old game models like quake 1/2 its kinda spiky.

when using quads,deformation gets a nicer flow, and looks more natural,that why we model in quads, not to mention that its way easyer thinking in quads, in terms of puzzling your model together.