PDA

View Full Version : Help my first digital painting... please!

Shin Tsuki
02-06-2005, 08:49 AM
http://img239.exs.cx/img239/959/andyposesketch6ez.jpg

http://img91.exs.cx/img91/6893/andyposecopy0ng.jpg

This is kinda my first attempt at a digital painting, so I'm just sort of feeling it out right now. I know a lot of people go straight to color, but I thought it might help me to lay in some rough values first. Also, since I'm just learning, I thought I'd post my progress here pretty regularly for all the help I can get.

This is going to be one of two characters in a larger piece depicting a fight between this guy and a crazy four armed centaur thing. The centaur is going to be sort of behind this character coming around to attack him from the side. I'm not sure how to explain it better than that, so I'll try to get a sketch of the overall composition posted soon. In the mean time I'd be happy to hear thoughts on the pose, anatomy, and value of this pic. And any other tips on how I should go about getting to a finished painted piece. So go ahead and let me have it.

Shin Tsuki
02-06-2005, 08:51 AM
sorry for the size of the pics, I didn't realize how huge they'd look. Next time I'll know....

Thany
02-06-2005, 09:36 AM
I think its a good rough, and it's always good to do a value study first. I love Japanese swords. The pose looks good to me, but I remember reading somewhere that they hold katanas with their hands apart on the hilt, like in this image:

http://www.kjartan.org/swordfaq/bilder/kendo/duck.gif

I still struggle with anatomy, so I wont give any critiques on that. Overall, I think it's looking good. As for tips, if you're stuck and not sure where to go from here, try checking out the many tutorials people here have on ther websites.

Shin Tsuki
02-06-2005, 03:47 PM
ah, yes, I can see what you mean with the hands. A wider grip would give him a bit more control of the sword. I'll have to see what I can do about that. Thanks for the heads up.

Rudeone