PDA

View Full Version : A couple of career questions in filmmaking

shaitan_ghola
02-05-2005, 10:38 PM
Hey, um I'm a highschool student that is considering going into filmmaking as a career.

1)What should I do to prepare for this career?
2)What are the benefits of this career for you?

3)What are the downas of this career for you?

4)What are the threat that prevent a person from getting into this career?

5)What are a list of good schools that best prepare me to venture into the real world?

DorkmanScott
02-06-2005, 01:00 AM
Hey, um I'm a highschool student that is considering going into filmmaking as a career.

Good for you! The earlier you start working on it, the better.

1)What should I do to prepare for this career?

1) Watch films. Get a Blockbuster Online or Netflix subscription and just start soaking the stuff up like a sponge. Study them and understand why good films are good films, why bad films are bad films, and where good films make bad choices, and vice versa, etc.

2) Make films. Get a camera and make film after film after film. Start with short scripts and then slowly make them longer and more ambitious as you go along. The longer you make a project the more complex it becomes, so work your way up to it slowly and take each problem as it comes.

Learn everything you can about all aspects of the craft. Take an acting class, take a course in make-up; be able to talk intelligently about any aspect of the art.

2)What are the benefits of this career for you?

Well, there's two answers to this. The idealist answer and the cynicist answer.

For an idealist, you get the opportunity to express yourself as a creative individual to others across the globe. Cinema is one of the primary forms of cross-cultural communication since the latter half of the 20th century, and you have to power to move millions of people.

For a cynicist, movies are big bucks. You stand to possibly make a lot of money and be very famous if you make movies people pay to see.