PDA

View Full Version : Wishlist for Painter


Pages : 1 [2]

Jinbrown
04-09-2008, 01:50 AM
you are not alone. i miss the old UI too!
I thought Painter 6 was awesome. I liked having the library palettes open all the time showing their contents. I liked the UI customizations you could do, like making a pattern into the palette background image. =)
I don't think the "Photoshop-ification" of Painter was such a good idea. It still feels like a bit of an unfinished copycat. With so many great features it'd be nice if Painter could look a bit more ...well, pretty... or at least design around its feature set, and not just try to look like PS.

- i'd love it if the custom palettes were more useful. right now they just show the brush category icon, somehow they should show more info about which tool is which.

Hi,

See my post to Miguel, and if you want, join The PainterFactory and post your requests in the Suggestion Box forum so the Corel Painter development team will know what you want.

The more of us who make these requests, the more likely they'll be considered for inclusion in the next iteration of Corel Painter. No guarantee, but it's worth trying at least.

In the meantime, there are two solutions to the brush category icon problem and not knowing which brush variant is represented in a Custom Palette.

1. The slow but sure way is to create custom brush categories with unique and easy to identify icons for each of your most used brush variants, then move copies of your brush variants into those brush categories.

2. The quick, but somewhat annoying way is to go to the Help menu and click Show Tool Tips, then hold your cursor very still over the brush category icon in your Custom Palette until the brush variant name is displayed.

#

Miguimau
04-09-2008, 07:02 AM
Hi Miguel!

It's good to see you. The poor, pitiful Painter list is virtually dead these days, sad to say.

In addition to this forum and the Conceptart.org Painter Forum (http://www.conceptart.org/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=23), you might also want to join The PainterFactory, Corel's new Painter community forums site.

You can post problems and bug reports (and any other Corel Painter technical problems) at The PainterFactory (http://painterfactory.com/), in the Painter Discussions area (click the tab at the top of the page) > Corel Painter Product Discussion forum category > Got a Question? forum.

The Got a Question? forum is the best place to discuss technical questions and concerns with Corel Painter users and the Corel Painter Development Team.

If you want to make suggestions for enhancements, bug fixes, etc. to be included in the next patch/Update or the next Painter version, you can post them in the same forum category, in the Suggestion Box forum.



#

Hi Jinny! I still like the private , intimate format of the List and, slept as certainly appears to be , I look forward to seeing it alive and kicking ; I will be glad to visit and participate here and in all these sites though . Painterfactory looks fine , btw. :) Thanks for the info, you are always great.
womanonfire has a strong point on the Painter UI. I certainly donīt like Corel "Photoshop-ification" -the term fits well- of Painter but itīs their commercial choice and as long they keep Painter alive I can live with it. The chance of chose amongst something like Painter 7 layout (the best in my opinion ) and the "new" Photoshop ersatz -only in the surface, true- would be a dream. Too much , probably but let me dream ;) What I mean for " I understand them", womanonfire, is that probably we long term hardcore Painter users will prefer the old layout but new Photoshop users that Corel targets perhaps tend to want only their way. Oh well, we have our beloved features behind anyway. And Corel wants to sell new licenses, I figure. But donīt touch the triangle! :)


Just another-irrelevant- thing . Itīs weird thing that now when fast Internet connections are commonplace there is no NetPainter anymore. Isnīt it?

workbench
04-10-2008, 02:27 PM
When Painter 9 came out I sent a suggestion to Rick about the interface and how clunky and specially how large the palette borders are, I suggested that there would be a "Classic Interface Mode" which would have a Painter 6/7 layout with a horizontal toolbox and everything, even though they receive quite a lot of complaints about the modern interface they have yet to change anything about it...

Miguimau
04-10-2008, 04:19 PM
When Painter 9 came out I sent a suggestion to Rick about the interface and how clunky and specially how large the palette borders are, I suggested that there would be a "Classic Interface Mode" which would have a Painter 6/7 layout with a horizontal toolbox and everything, even though they receive quite a lot of complaints about the modern interface they have yet to change anything about it...

Yes, thatīs what I meant. But IMHO Painter 7īs interface was the top... it improved Painter 6 UI at its best.
When I bought Painter 8 and installed it I got shocked. In fact I stayed mainly using my PC Painter 7 until IX.5 came out. :(

womanonfire
04-11-2008, 12:10 PM
ah a "Classic Interface Mode" would be so great :) but i bet it's too much trouble to program 2 interfaces like that. And I do understand that they do what they must to keep the software alive.

Hey and what ever did happen to Net Painter... ah those were the days! ;D
thx for the tips Jinbrown!

albehany
04-12-2008, 09:41 AM
hi plese help
I want to learn how to blend and reduce the variations of colors. (ie: skin tone, shadows (soft)
I am here in Saudi arabia. I work on Corel painter program. No one can give me the correct technique for this.
the book is not available here in the kingdom and once I buy it from internet, they will have to check it and remove some part of the book that is not allowed for us to see. :cry:

slm
05-04-2008, 09:30 PM
this isn't the best topic that you should post to ask help ( please don't take it as rude)

go to effect> tonal control>correct colors or crtl + shift + K
( it works as photoshop curves )

select master to adjust the brightness levels of all picture
select curve is the way to work with

bottom left of the square is the darkest colors / top right is the brightest

when you click and drag a part of the line to up or down it will increase or decrese the amoung of dark or light ( like light exposition in photos).

when you decrease some shadows and lights values you can have a picture with less contrast.

NR43
08-29-2008, 12:04 PM
Not sure if this has been mentioned before (or if it is available in Painter X), but


We can type color values, in either RGB or HSV in the Color Info palette. The default display is RGB. To switch from RGB to HSV, go to the Color Info palette menu and choose Display as HSV.



The option to have the Color Info displayed as HSV by default would be great.
I very often pick or change values when working in grayscale by using the V-slider.
This basically means I have to change it from RGB to HSV every time I open Painter IX.5

I never think in RGB terms anyway...

arthur58
09-14-2008, 01:51 PM
http://wangjiang118.azone.artron.net/users_info/48/wangjiang118/2008091116142557723.jpg

My work "Purple Recollection"
When are you planning to release this patch?

rockscorp
09-30-2008, 09:50 AM
i have now painter x

and i would like to make better some basic things wich make working easyer

first of all

- selection tool (point to point etc...)
- layer channels (add burn etc...) to make more easyl of use bij scrolling with mouse when you click on it (paintshop and photoshop both hase these... photopaint need it to...)

- at layers it would be easyer to flat image with just right mouse clik on it or add new layer
photoshop does not support this but paintshop do much easy working

Miguimau
10-07-2008, 10:35 AM
Just wondering...
We can only acquire images from an external device using a TWAIN interface under Windows ; it seems quite ridiculous to me. Will Mac Painter users be able to scan directly (and without the need of a Photoshop plugin) from Painter in a future? Why this lack of such a basic feature?

NR43
10-27-2008, 09:43 AM
I was just thinking...

Is it possible to use hotkeys to increase and decrease the value parameter? (I use IX.5)

Would be awesome to just slide my finger on my Intuos 3 to change the value.
This way I wouldn't have to go to the color palette to change my value a tad up or down.

This could even work well in combination with a key on my tablet to switch between Hue, Value and Saturation. I think it could drastically speed up chosing colors/values...

gavobe
11-26-2008, 04:06 PM
I know what you mean with photoshop,I used both. the solution for your 10% and 20 % is one thing that I find work with the colorinfo and set it up HSV and work with the valuation of the color and you have a better control over you color and work not with opasity. I do it al 2 years with that stuf and is nice. sertant when you work with watercolor,digital or oil.


all regards

PerryDS
12-10-2008, 07:27 PM
My big #1 improvement would be true transparency, get rid of that white edge that appears around strokes on default. If they can resolve this, it would open up all sorts of great usability options.

gavobe
12-11-2008, 12:46 AM
I known there is help for that with the transparancy and the with edge
here is a link that is perhaps a sulution
http://www.cellbio.duke.edu/faculty/klingensmith/Adobe%20Photoshop%207/Help/help.html

take a look overthere. I known painter and photoshop work fine together.

all regards

Lunatique
12-11-2008, 02:45 AM
I known there is help for that with the transparancy and the with edge
here is a link that is perhaps a sulution
http://www.cellbio.duke.edu/faculty/klingensmith/Adobe%20Photoshop%207/Help/help.html

take a look overthere. I known painter and photoshop work fine together.

all regards

I don't understand how that can help the transparency problem in Painter. Once the white pixels appear, they are just there unless you painstakingly go and erase them, which is impossible and impractical because the white pixels interact with the brushstrokes and if you use a bristle brush you're kinda screwed.

I've been begging Corel to do something about the transparency problem for years now, and I hope one day they figure out how to fix it. I know quite a bit of artists who refrain from using Painter as much as they'd like to and stick to Photoshop instead most of the time because of this problem (me being one of them).

workbench
12-11-2008, 05:22 AM
What's wrong in using Pick Up Underlaying Colors?

Lunatique
12-11-2008, 06:11 AM
What's wrong in using Pick Up Underlaying Colors?

Because if you want to keep that layer purely of the information you need and nothing else, picking up colors underneath will add other crap to the layer. Let's say I've painted the hair of a character on just a layer by itself so I can tweak its color or contrast later--if I've got other crap mixed in with the edges of all the hair strands, I would not be able to tweak anything to my heart's content.

workbench
12-11-2008, 07:10 AM
Because if you want to keep that layer purely of the information you need and nothing else, picking up colors underneath will add other crap to the layer. Let's say I've painted the hair of a character on just a layer by itself so I can tweak its color or contrast later--if I've got other crap mixed in with the edges of all the hair strands, I would not be able to tweak anything to my heart's content.

Oh I see, have you used SAI (http://www.systemax.jp/en/)? I just tried to do what you wanted and it worked perfectly, the only problem is that you can't color pick because you would bring colors from the bottom layers and of course the brushes aren't as robust as Painter's but for smooth blendings it's very well possible to do just that.

theanswer07
01-16-2009, 06:09 AM
a more intuitive layer engine, similar to photoshops, with masks etc.

increased photoshop crossover support (adjustment layers is a biggie for me)

perhaps greater graphics acceleration, much like photoshop cs4s graphics acceleration, just so it uses more of my graphics card and less of my ram xD

painter, atm is epic, the brushes do make up for a lot of painters flaws with the interface, so as long as they keep building on their brush engine, i'm sure i'll be using painter for a long while to come.

jfrancis
02-14-2009, 01:32 AM
I'm sorry for repeating this from another thread, but this thread is actually a better place for this...

I still have my fingers crossed on Painter XI color mixing...

I've been asking since at least 2005 (http://forums.cgsociety.org/archive/index.php/t-261055.html) for Painter to drop its RGB color mixing in favor of some more realistic multispectral pigment mixing.

...So Painter, if you are listening -- it's time.

By coincidence, I even came across some researchers today who were doing it back then. Interesting stuff.

http://gamma.cs.unc.edu/impasto/

Lunatique
02-14-2009, 04:04 AM
The interesting thing is, the younger generation who started on digital and never painted with real paint have no disconnect--they just use what they're given. I wonder if one mixing method is inherently more reliable/effective than the other, if that's the only method a person knows?

theanswer07
02-14-2009, 05:11 AM
The interesting thing is, the younger generation who started on digital and never painted with real paint have no disconnect--they just use what they're given. I wonder if one mixing method is inherently more reliable/effective than the other, if that's the only method a person knows?

That's probably true.

If one knows no other method, then they have no knowledge of the other alternatives, and in turn will make their method work, due to that lack of knowledge.. if that makes any sense.

I started digitally and through programs like Painter I began to use traditional methods, like I did as a child.. throwing paint at a canvas, and thinking nothing of it.

Heozart
06-01-2009, 05:24 AM
I want to be able to change the orientation of captured dabs with brush strokes. Never understood why we can't. With captured dabs, if you go to Angle, turn down squeeze to lower than 100% and enable expression, the strokes still look the same. You can change the angle manually, but that is not practical.

gavobe
06-01-2009, 06:27 PM
I known about mixing in painter.There is a file that have a place in colorsets that you can loaded in your mixer and that are like mine artistcolors
ROWS 2
COLS 12
WIDTH 18
TEXTHEIGHT 0
SPACING 1
R:115, G:074, B:018 Raw Umber
R:128, G:070, B:027 Russet
R:112, G:066, B:020 Sepia
R:205, G:141, B:066 Raw Sienna
R:185, G:075, B:048 Burnt Sienna
R:137, G:079, B:055 Brown Oxyde
R:037, G:025, B:029 Vandyke Brown
R:249, G:244, B:006 Cadmium Lemon
R:244, G:237, B:001 Yellow
R:241, G:167, B:016 Cadmium Yellow
R:231, G:129, B:053 Cadmium Orange
R:225, G:036, B:066 Cadmium Red
R:255, G:069, B:000 Red orange
R:231, G:081, B:110 Rose Madder
R:166, G:036, B:046 Alzarin Crimson
R:208, G:042, B:064 Parmanent Alzarin Crimson
R:135, G:206, B:235 SkyBlue
R:089, G:179, B:208 Cerulean Blue
R:001, G:118, B:188 Cobalt blue
R:069, G:057, B:140 Deep Cobalt Blue
R:053, G:079, B:151 French Ultramarin
R:047, G:058, B:127 Prussian Blue
R:008, G:014, B:019 Indigo
R:028, G:087, B:097 Phthalo blue
R:119, G:221, B:119 Pastel Green
R:002, G:168, B:119 Viridian
R:000, G:128, B:000 Office Green
R:128, G:128, B:000 Olive
R:154, G:185, B:115 Olive Light
R:007, G:142, B:035 Green
R:124, G:252, B:000 Lawn Green
R:255, G:243, B:171 Light Naples Yellow
R:251, G:219, B:132 Naples Yellow
R:228, G:155, B:015 Gamboge

that are in a text file and save as c:\program files\corel\painterIX\colorsets\artist colors
and you can't used as watercolorpaint or other paint. Your mixer work with this and you can it mixed as a traditional paint.

i hope that i bring you up the right way,as tradional artist

Bloodwraith
01-15-2010, 02:38 AM
How about a pencil option that actually looks like a sketch? Maybe its just me but I cant get it to work that way

DksDestiny

Miguimau
01-15-2010, 12:43 PM
How about a pencil option that actually looks like a sketch? Maybe its just me but I cant get it to work that way

DksDestiny
IMHO current Painter pencils are excellent .. And these new Real Pencils are great. Of course you can have your particular idea of a sketchy pencil but tweaking any of the existent ones should help for your needs.
Regards

sand dragon
01-15-2010, 03:51 PM
I want to be able to change the orientation of captured dabs with brush strokes. Never understood why we can't. With captured dabs, if you go to Angle, turn down squeeze to lower than 100% and enable expression, the strokes still look the same. You can change the angle manually, but that is not practical.

Here is what you need;

In the Brush Controls > Angle palette;

Squeeze: 99 percent or less

Angle: Whatever you want

(Angle) Expression: Try Direction, Bearing or Random (or Rotation if you have the 6D Art Pen/ Art Marker).

Angle Range: Say 30 up to a maximum of 360 degrees for the full 360 degree rotation. If this is set to 0 degrees, then there will be no rotation in your dab stroke.

Angle Step: Typically 5 to 12 degrees. Angle Step values of 180 degrees and above can prevent angle rotation, irrespective of Angle Range and other Angle settings.

It sounds like you could have had your Angle Range set too low, and/or the Angle Step value too high.

David

Lundberg02
03-13-2010, 01:24 AM
Why isn't there a complete glossary of all terms used in the Toolbar and Properties bar and the Brush Controls, in the Help?
Or somewhere.
For instance: Feature Size, Boost, Squeeze and some others.
Can not find an explanation of Feature Size anywhere online, what it actually does.
Same with Boost.
What does Opacity actually mean in terms of pixels?
Does 50% mean that half of the underlying pixels are allowed to replace overlying pixels?
Stochastically or in a specific pattern of some kind?
Or isn't that even the method?

GinGin
04-11-2010, 12:47 PM
First of all, let me say how much l love painter and how much I would love it if I didn't have to shift between the two programs so often.

I'm sure most are addressed already, but in that case, just see it as an added voice.

It's also very much possible that these things already exist, but I simply don't know how to do it.


- The opacity could do with improvement especially in the low percentages.
- I'd like the option of an angle shader brush
- The ability to load (some) brushes (like the angled shader) with more than one colour
- Dodge and burn. Don't use it much, but it's not colour-true in painter
- The ability to resize the layer menu

msbunbury
04-11-2010, 04:21 PM
what do you mean by "angle shader brush"?

you can load multiple colours with painter since ver. IX was released, it's the second eye-dropper icon in color mixer pallete (cmd+2/ctrl+2)
artists oils and realbristle brushes are showing the most pronounced colour mixing effect afaik.

you can use glow brush in FX category as photoshop's color dodge replacement, works fine.
I'm not sure about color burn in painter though.

you can also resize the layers palette -
http://painterfactory.com/forums/t/259.aspx?PageIndex=17

neso
04-16-2010, 12:56 PM
- Brush blending modes (normal,darken,multiply,color,color dodge etc).
Something like shift+r.click in Photoshop.
These speed things up,although I don't know how this would fit with Painter's engine.
- Unlock-able canvas (base layer)
- Cleaner and smarter UI
- Better performance

Jinbrown
04-17-2010, 08:01 AM
- Brush blending modes (normal,darken,multiply,color,color dodge etc).
Something like shift+r.click in Photoshop.
These speed things up,although I don't know how this would fit with Painter's engine.
- Unlock-able canvas (base layer)

This tutorial answers your questions about the Painter Canvas:

The Painter Canvas, What Can be Done with it, and (http://www.pixelalley.com/tips_and_tuts/pntr_cnvs_how_it_works.html)
How to Lift it to a Layer (http://www.pixelalley.com/tips_and_tuts/pntr_cnvs_how_it_works.html)


- Cleaner and smarter UI
- Better performance


Jinny

#

kjbill
08-08-2010, 03:39 AM
My Corel Painter 12 Wish List.

I would like to see an ELLIPSE and RULER tool ( like Sketchbook Pro 2010 has ). The symmetry tools in Sketchbook Pro 2010 is also very useful. With the ELLIPSE and RULER tool you simply position the ruler or ellipse anywhere on the screen and then proceed to draw following the contour of the ruler or ellipse. This gives us nice straight and curved lines.

ArtRage Studio Pro does this even better with "Stencils" of a ruler, a french curve, a square, a rounded square, etc. You use them the same way you would on a drawing table.

msbunbury
08-08-2010, 05:53 PM
if you're familiar with creating vector shapes, you can make your own curves and align your brush movement to them.

neso
08-10-2010, 11:53 AM
if you're familiar with creating vector shapes, you can make your own curves and align your brush movement to them.

It's not ergonomic.
Ease of use and functionality should be top priority when designing the product.

kjbill
08-10-2010, 04:13 PM
if you're familiar with creating vector shapes, you can make your own curves and align your brush movement to them.
Thanks for the reply.

Yes, I know that we can use vector shapes and even the "Align to path" feature, but you have to create the path shape or vector shape first. The way ArtRage Studio Pro and Sketchbook Pro 2010 do it is MORE NATURAL. Just like we would do it at the drawing table.

The way Painter does it now is for us "having to create a french curve or a ruler first" in order to be able to use it. Why not have the french curve and ruler there ready for us to use at any time?

Cheers

kjbill
08-10-2010, 04:19 PM
Thanks for the reply msbunbury.

Yes, I know that we can use vector shapes and even the "Align to path" feature, but you have to create the path shape or vector shape first. The way ArtRage Studio Pro and Sketchbook Pro 2010 do it is MORE NATURAL. Just like we would do it at the drawing table.

The way Painter does it now is for us "having to create a french curve or a ruler first" in order to be able to use it. Why not have the french curve and ruler there ready for us to use at any time?

Cheers

kjbill
08-10-2010, 05:56 PM
Thanks for the reply msbunbury.

Yes, I know that we can use vector shapes and even the "Align to path" feature, but you have to create the path shape or vector shape first. The way ArtRage Studio Pro and Sketchbook Pro 2010 do it is MORE NATURAL. Just like we would do it at the drawing table.

The way Painter does it now is for us "having to create a french curve or a ruler first" in order to be able to use it. Why not have the french curve and ruler there ready for us to use at any time?

Cheers