PDA

View Full Version : Power book G4, or goboxx?

BlueSamurai
02-04-2005, 10:58 PM
Hello,

I am looking to purchase a laptop, but I stuck between a goboxx and a powerbook. Could someone with expirience in both systems let me know which you found better and/or more reliable? I am not sure about a powerbook, as I have never used a mac before. I am just trying to figure out which one will give me the best performance. If someone could give the pros and cons of each it would be most helpful.

Thanks,
Grant :buttrock:

Saurus
02-04-2005, 11:56 PM
Depend what software you want to use? Being a CG forum, I guess you going to be doing CG stuff. Let’s say money to buy CG software is no object and you just want to know which machine will fill your CG needs. Both machines have their strong point and weak point. Boxx has definitely faster processor and a video card that will handle heavier cg work. The only issue with Boxx is its’ size and is power hog. G4 having lower processor speed won’t have the same power need as Boxx and will give you maybe an hour or so battery power. It’s also lighter unless you go for the bigger 17 inch which 7 pounds, but still lighter to Boxx’s 11 pounds. Lots of software are available for both laptop. Boxx, being Window base offers more software, like 3D Max and XSI, but if you are an editor and Final Cut is your cup of tea, then G4 is your only solution. If you are not 100 percent sold on Boxx, a lot of the laptop shortcoming, describe above, can fixed by going for other laptops that offers mobile chip base processor.

Shogmaster
02-05-2005, 12:36 AM
I'm sorry, but unless you cannot live without OSX, buying a powerbook with the now ancient G4 proc is just rediculous for any serious CG work, especially for 3D.

Ed Caracappa
02-05-2005, 12:43 AM
If you decide on a GoBOXX call me! I'd be happy to help you out.

Ed

zeroice013
02-05-2005, 01:53 AM
Ed,