PDA

View Full Version : can u scale a skinned model?


dondixon
09-12-2002, 07:52 AM
can u scale a skinned model in maya to fit a scece created in a different file?

MDuffy
09-17-2002, 09:12 PM
Sure, but when you start scaling things you have to be more careful of how your rig is set up. You will scale a node that all of your bones are parented beneath. But you need to make sure the skinned geometry is not in the same heirarchy, or it will get a double transform. Also any geometry that is point and/or orient constrained into the heirarchy will probably need to be scale constrained as well. So you'll likely have a Top node, and then a Root node and Geometry node as children of the Top. You can scale the Root node but not the Geometry node, and everything is still kept nice and organized under the single Top node.


Hope this helps,
Michael Duffy
mduffy@ionet.net

anthonymcgrath
09-26-2002, 04:43 PM
alternatively, can you scale your scene to fit the model??
just group it all into a top node and scale away.

I find myself doing that far more often despite the top node stuff MDuffy mentioned which works just as well.

CGTalk Moderation
01-13-2006, 05:00 PM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.