PDA

View Full Version : general color replacement layer

tymznd
02-02-2005, 07:16 AM
I am a shake newbie, I have rendered out a maya an animation of a basketball player, and have a colorful basketball as its own layer, composited, all is good..... however, I am partly colorblind and am not a strong shader guy so I am wondering if it is possible to basically desaturate the basketball layer and adjust the color from there.

I know that I could render out the color as its own pass in maya.... but I am hoping for a general rough way of doing it (kinda like photoshop has gradient map, or color replace) seeing how the basketball is fairly complex and I am trying to rough it out... without more days of maya rendering.

I suppose, desaturating actually would not be the way seeing how you would want the color input values to drive the color replacement values.... anyway, like I said I am a newbie and if someone could just roughly describe the process/nodes that might work?

pointnclick
02-06-2005, 08:50 PM
If you want to get a matte(alpha) for the basketball in order to use as a mask to colour correct, the ball needs to be a different colour from all the other elements in the scene. For example if the ball is orange + everything else isn't then you can just use primatte/keylight node to key out the colour. To look at the alpha, just press 'a' with your mouse over the viewport, to return to the colour view press 'c'.
The resulting alpha can then be plugged into the M knot of a color correct node so that when you adjust the sliders it just affects the ball. If you find that the alpha contains the basketball but also part of the players T-shirt, you can use a rotoshape as a garbage matte for the Tshirt so that the alpha is just of the ball.
Hopes this helps + isn't too confusing. It would help to see a frame of the animation...

pointnclick
02-07-2005, 05:57 PM
...you could also try the color replace node but it might not give you enough control over what needs changing..