PDA

View Full Version : Studio Light Stup - FREE HDRI Map


rodrigogua
02-02-2005, 12:08 AM
Hi. I came up with the idea of making studio-lighting setups with 3ds max and render them into HDRI. I figured out how to do it, and here is the result. There is a site which i cannot remember right now that sell commercial-quality HDRIs similar to these, but they aren't free :P. Resolution is 2000x2000 for the probe image and 2000x1000 for the latitude/longitude map.

I had to post them separately, 'cause CGtalk wouldn't let me upload the zip containing both of them.

rodrigogua
02-05-2005, 02:49 PM
here is an image rendered with this map. 1 skylight, final gather samples:1000 min samples per pixel:1 max:16 rendered with 3ds max 7 -mental ray. this map used as environment AND as projector map for the skylight. as you can see, even some caustics show up even if they wre trned OFF. redner time: 2:41:05 @ 3200 X 2400 in P4 @ 1.5Ghz.

This HDRI is similar in concept to these, (http://www.hdri-studio.com/index.html) but FREE. I'm planing to make more.

BrianHarbauer
02-05-2005, 04:29 PM
Wow! Thank you for your time and effort! I'm sure many have thought of doing this, but just never took the time! What a great contribution to CGTalk. Not many would think to post and give their work for free. Thanks again!

-Brian H.

rodrigogua
02-05-2005, 08:06 PM
no problem dude, i've got too much free time for my own sake

technique
03-05-2005, 02:36 PM
thank you very much for your effort.. I cant download the zips though :/ has anyone else experienced probs? Otherwise.. could you try to upload them again, please?

PiXeL_MoNKeY
03-07-2005, 03:45 AM
rodrigogua...I would like to thank you for attempting to make HDRIs however you could save these a jpg and save space and have the same results. If you look at the image in the the hdr setup you will see you only have one little spike in the graph. This is not hdr it is an ldr image saved as hdr. To properly get an HDR image you will need to use a renderer that properly supports the Unclamped colors gbuffer channel as well as set your white materials to values above 1.0.

-Eric

ant...
03-16-2005, 02:08 PM
Thanks for letting us view the files, but I can't get either to work.
I thought the probe file was because it was missing the .hdr extension so I added that and it still wouldn't work. Then the warped file comes through corrupt.

What am I doing wrong

ktxed
03-25-2005, 09:55 PM
very nice map...too bad 3dsmax cannot output 64bit++ images :(
I tried myself to make a HDRI-map but when i rendered it sucked. :(
i will try to make a synthetic HDRI :D soon in LW

DodoPAN
03-27-2005, 10:22 AM
Simple and amazing idea, man. I started a thread, Car studio lighting recepies (http://www.cgtalk.com/showthread.php?p=2088452) and I linked your thread, hope that doesn't bother you.

Do you blur your self-made HDRI or you just use it plain&simple ?

And the ground-plane, is it just simple plane or it's like a studio (walls) ?

Cool idea, again ! :thumbsup:

rodrigogua
04-03-2005, 10:32 PM
@ PiXeL_MoNKeY: Thanks for the comment. at the time when i made this map, it was of no knowledg to me that 3ds max can't render 64 bit images. nevertheless, this map should be useful due to its nature, even if all the lights will appear to have the same intensity. the output of all maps were set at a value much higher than one, i beleive that the less bright one was set at 2.5.

@ DodoPAN: thanks for the support! i really don't mind you linking to this thread, that's what i published this map for. the ground is a simple ground plane, no walls.

andrewjohn81
04-08-2005, 01:03 PM
If you render at least three images that simulate different exposures then you can create an hdr image from that. That's the way you do it when you take the images with a camera. It could work the same in the computer.
You can use HDRshop to assemble the images and it will create the hdr map for you. They have tutorials on their website as well.
Just render the ldr images (I would use tiff so as to not have compression) and just import them into hdrshop. I'm sure you could figure the rest out from there.

rodrigogua
12-15-2005, 05:04 AM
i was FINALLY able to make them work!!! as PiXeL_MoNKeY had previously pointed out, that HDR map was actually an ordinary LDR image. now, though, and thanks to MR 3.4 (wich ships with max 8) that outputs 32-bit, unclamped images, i was able to output a true HDR map.

i am planning to write a tutorial on how to do them so that this gets more general and we can all contribute. i will tell you this for now: the panorama exporter CANNOT output 32-but images, even if you set the renderer to do so!!

well, enough babbling here (http://www.freefileupload.net/file.php?file=files/151205/1134626633/studioHDR.zip) is the .zip file inlcuding both probe and latitude/longitude maps (58.2 Kb)

PiXeL_MoNKeY
12-15-2005, 08:46 PM
All you need to do to make a spherical map is use the WrapAround (lume) Lens Shader. Place it in Renderer > Camera Shaders > Lens when MR is active. To get it to map properly you need to use a 2:1 (image:pixel aspect ratio), ie 640x320. This generates a panoramic image that will peoperly map spherically as an environment or reflection map. The WrapAround shader grabs a snapshot of the entire 360-degree environment surrounding the camera. This snapshot can be useful in a variety of ways: as a reflectivity map, spherically projected onto a dome as an environment map, etc.
Hope this helps,
-Eric

rodrigogua
12-15-2005, 10:45 PM
wow, thanks lots PiXeL_MoNKeY, that tip sure came in handy!!

wilgory
12-19-2005, 05:28 AM
Great HDR maps!!! Hopefully more people will provide the community with these awesome resources!!
-Greg

rodrigogua
12-19-2005, 03:45 PM
thanks wilgory!! i am writing a tutorial on how to create them so hopefully more people will be able to provide their own setups

paconavarro
12-19-2005, 07:13 PM
Genial que estes haciendo un poco de research :)

Viva México!!!

Feliz Navidad

rodrigogua
12-19-2005, 09:20 PM
gracias!!

feliz navidad

thesquare
02-21-2006, 02:15 AM
Just want to know if this thread is still up?

rodrigogua
02-22-2006, 12:33 AM
absolutely!, feel free to ask or post anything!

maxFX
02-23-2006, 11:46 AM
Hello matey
thanks alot for sharing your ideas. I was wondering however on a brief explanataion of the settings you used in the renderer to produce each frame ( did you use linear exposure? )

thanks alot :)

rodrigogua
02-24-2006, 12:22 AM
the settings were pretty simple. i actually just created 3 MR Area Spotlights with "Show icon in renderer" option checked. They have different intensities. Them i set the renderer (MR 3.4+ only) to outpu 32-bit images and, as Pixel_Monky suggested the Wraparound(lume) lens shader. that's it. no FG, no GI, no caustics, no nothing. simple and really fast

lalula
09-05-2006, 01:31 PM
i was FINALLY able to make them work!!! as PiXeL_MoNKeY had previously pointed out, that HDR map was actually an ordinary LDR image. now, though, and thanks to MR 3.4 (wich ships with max 8) that outputs 32-bit, unclamped images, i was able to output a true HDR map.

i am planning to write a tutorial on how to do them so that this gets more general and we can all contribute. i will tell you this for now: the panorama exporter CANNOT output 32-but images, even if you set the renderer to do so!!

well, enough babbling here (http://www.freefileupload.net/file.php?file=files/151205/1134626633/studioHDR.zip) is the .zip file inlcuding both probe and latitude/longitude maps (58.2 Kb)

Hi. First of all, great idea! But I think the link is broken. Do you have it in another host? Thanks!

rodrigogua
09-05-2006, 07:43 PM
it's actually up, but the download limit for the day was reached, so you gotta wait till the next day. sorry for the inconvenience

lalula
09-07-2006, 01:37 PM
it's actually up, but the download limit for the day was reached, so you gotta wait till the next day. sorry for the inconvenience
Thank's. I will try again. Very popular file :P.

DBH
12-09-2006, 12:10 PM
The link for that studio HDR file is broken :(

Out of interest I'm trying to create my own HDR map in MAX 9 at the moment, I've setup a floor and 3 MR Area spots with 1.0, 0.35, and 0.35 intensity arranged in a triangle formation pointing towards center of the plane. I am using logimetric exposure control.

Am I right in assuming I just render the scene 3 times at different logimetric exposure settings each time with the WrapAround(Lume) shader and then composite it in HDR shop?

urgaffel
12-09-2006, 02:46 PM
You can render to 32bit per channel images with mental ray so you don't have to do any HDRshop compositing.

DBH
12-09-2006, 03:22 PM
I thought though that your supposed to use those 32-bit images (which are still seen as LDR images by HDR shop) and convert them into a .HDR image and bring that back into MAX etc? So your saying you can just use the rendered 32 bit image as a HDR regardless of converting it then?

rodrigogua
12-10-2006, 03:25 PM
yep, if you've go mr. 3.4+ you can render native 32-bit images straight out of mr and they'll be fine if you save them in .hdr or openexr

DBH
12-10-2006, 10:55 PM
Cool ! Also you don't happen to have a copy of that studio HDR one you did properly by any chance? the link is still dead and dead :(

han3d
01-08-2007, 11:12 AM
thanks for sharing

CGTalk Moderation
01-08-2007, 11:12 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.