PDA

View Full Version : Quik Question

Mangled Poly
09-11-2002, 06:07 PM
How come whenever i try to extured a face it flips its normals so the faces flip the other way.. i know its alt+f to flip em back however this can become a pain on more advanced models. Anyone.. the answer is probly easy but as i mentioned im quite new to this program.:annoyed:

proton
09-11-2002, 06:31 PM
I'd like to see an example of what you rare talking about....

Amalinde
09-11-2002, 08:02 PM
If your using rail extrude then the extruded pipe or whatever will be flipped, just flip your starting poly before doing the rail extrude

if your using just normal extude then i dunno, i hardly ever use it cuz bevel is faster

Mangled Poly
09-11-2002, 08:12 PM
For you proton, and anyone else whos can help this is a quik example i extruded the faces from the top view and have done it in mony other views same think it flips the normals....:wip:

yon dabuda
09-11-2002, 10:19 PM
maybe thats to let you see whats inside? hehe. nevermind, i dont know.

proton
09-11-2002, 10:21 PM
Don't use extrude for that....use Smooth Shift....Extrude is more for Flat polygons......Smooth Shift will give you what you need.

Mangled Poly
09-11-2002, 10:44 PM
thnx proton!

proton
09-11-2002, 10:55 PM
That's a common mistake I've seen with users of other 3d apps switching ot LW.....esp. Max users....Smooth Shift will become your best bud!

dies-irae
09-11-2002, 10:59 PM
This is just a small test i made to test how flipped polys are handed by modeler... i'll have to say that only bevel satisfies me...
http://www.dies-irae.com/test_extrude.jpg

as proton said, extrude is more for giving volume to 2d shapes (like a text or a drawing). What you tried to do was beveling those polys, but while bevel is for single polys, smooth shift is for groups of polys (that doesn't prevent it from screwing up when you sm.shift flipped polys...notice the black holes in the image ;) ).

Just make a test on a segmented cube using