PDA

View Full Version : Panic! is it possible to copy modifiers with all data?


f97ao
01-31-2005, 10:20 AM
To my dispair I have not found a way to copy a modifier from object to object.
Yes of course you can "move" a modifier to another object, but it will loose the data. In the max viewport you can however copy the modifiers and maintain the data. Is there a way to do this with maxScript?

Try this:
- Create an object, then copy it so you have 2 identical
- create an edit_poly modifier and extrude some faces on one object.
- Now you drag this modifier from the stack to the other object

As you see the other object will now have extrusions as well.

Is this possible with maxScript?

I have tried this:

mod=box01.modifiers[1]
addModifiers box02 mod

This will apply the modifier on the other box with the same settings but the extrusions are gone :(

/Andreas

marktsang
01-31-2005, 06:49 PM
hi,
i tried this a while ago using many different methods (instancing, copying ect..) nothing seems to work with the edit_poly modifier - i posted the question at the discreet weboards and still no reply - hmmmmmm i wonder is it possible i would also love to know

mark

Reality3D
01-31-2005, 07:59 PM
Seems that the only info not copied is mesh data(selections of faces/vertices... and operations/transforms with them).It will force you to do a manual copy of it :?!. Strange since it is supported within the ui. Bobo? 8)

f97ao
01-31-2005, 11:23 PM
This is very problematic since alot of modifiers won't work like this
For example, vertex paint, edit_poly, poly selections, skinning etc.

Pff, I wonder if it is possible to write a copy modifier function in c++. It is quite important.
/Andreas

phormis
02-03-2005, 03:27 AM
I added a post then I realized that I was wrong and what I was doing in my script was much more complicated. But I do not see how to delete it. So...


The only way I could see doing this in script is to use a mesh select and an extrude modifier. Then save and load the selection sets. I have tried this and SOMETIMES it works but I could be crazy...

ModifierHolder = copy ObjectName.modifiers[index of modifier]

then

Addmodifier ObjectName ModifierHolder

-Paul

CGTalk Moderation
02-03-2006, 04:00 AM
This thread has been automatically closed as it remained inactive for 12 months. If you wish to continue the discussion, please create a new thread in the appropriate forum.