PDA

View Full Version : Newb to Maya, need car modeling advice..

Kickflipkid687
01-30-2005, 12:51 PM
Hello,

I'm new to Maya and new to these forums. I want to model a vehicle, any one really, that's not to complicated. Ive been modeling cars for a few years in a program called Zmodeler, which is polygon by polygon based modeling. Now, when I came about using Maya, its totally different. I dont know where to start when modeling? I was thinking of using a plane like I had did in max when modeling a truck, but it didnt turn out really smooth... I tried using CV curves and using the birail tool, but I cannot get it to work. I would really appreciate some ideas as to how to get started on making a basic semi-detailed car. I'm going to be learning Maya and Photoshop in game design college in about 4-5 months, but I want to learn before I go there to have an edge on people. Im trying to learn PS to, but I dont really understand all those layers and whatnot either. But please help me however you can.

Thank you,

Matt

Kickflipkid687
02-01-2005, 12:42 PM
Well, I started using CV curves on modeling my Smart, and its working out ok so far, but now for some reason, probably because of newest ATI drivers installed, Maya always locks up after about 20 min and slows down for some odd reason. I might have to roll back my drivers to fix it. But, is alot of cv curves a good idea to model with, then convert to poly or is there a better way?

Matt

pauljs75
02-09-2005, 12:33 AM
I can't say much about Maya, but in PhotoShop (or any similar 2D app) layers are your friend. You can paint different things on different layers and adjust for effects and whatever. It's probably harder for me to explain than for you to figure out by experimenting. Also note that layers are quite handy for painting over templates when UV mapping.

Iconoklast
02-09-2005, 07:32 AM
Layer's don't really help on how to get started on a 3d car!